Daily Archives: November 5, 2015

Revelation 10:8-11 – November 5

God, please give us a fresh revelation of Jesus Christ as we study the book of Revelation!

We’ll be studying Revelation through the end of November. Please feel free to read and journal with us as often as you can, with the goal of getting to daily time at the feet of Jesus. For this study, we are using Beth Moore’s “Here and Now…There and Then” lecture series and study guide on Revelation as a resource, so you may see it referenced occasionally.

You can read the NIV version of today’s reading below or your favorite Bible version then spend some time meditating and journaling on the reading, letting God speak to you through it. We encourage use of the SOAP method of Bible study as you grow in your relationship with God. Check out the What’s SOAP tab above for more info. Also, below today’s reading is a SOAP journal entry from our team to help dive into God’s Word. And we encourage you to share your SOAP journal entry, prayer requests, or questions in the Comments section on our website.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Revelation 10:8-11 – The Angel and the Little Scroll

Then the voice that I had heard from heaven spoke to me once more: “Go, take the scroll that lies open in the hand of the angel who is standing on the sea and on the land.”

So I went to the angel and asked him to give me the little scroll. He said to me, “Take it and eat it. It will turn your stomach sour, but ‘in your mouth it will be as sweet as honey.’” 10 I took the little scroll from the angel’s hand and ate it. It tasted as sweet as honey in my mouth, but when I had eaten it, my stomach turned sour. 11 Then I was told, “You must prophesy again about many peoples, nations, languages and kings.”

 

My Comic Relief | Becky Newman

Scripture

Revelation 10:10

Observation

God knows this is hard for us to read. I think that’s why He gives us a break on the seventh angel here. We don’t need to know all the details of the wrath He’s pouring out on the evil left in mankind. We just need to be scared enough by what’s to come to repent now. This is why pastors used to preach fire and brimstone. We don’t hear this much, if at all, any more, but it’s straight-up Bible.

This eating the scroll thing is kind of odd, but readers familiar with the Old Testament would likely recognize its connection to Ezekiel. Right after Ezekiel’s revelation of heaven and Jesus, Ezekiel is handed a scroll with words of lament and mourning and woe written on it (Ezekiel 2:10). Jesus, or an Angel of the Lord, told him to eat the scroll, and Ezekiel remarked that it tasted as sweet as honey. The purpose of eating the scroll was to fully digest the Word of God that Ezekiel was to speak to the Israelites, a message of repentance from their rebellion against God. So this eating the scroll bit in Revelation is almost exactly the same message, except that the message is intended for all mankind this time around.

Today’s my comic relief. The first thing I thought when I read verse 10 was the description of John eating the scroll is exactly like eating too much of my kids’ Halloween candy, and I’ve been there a lot this last week.

Application

I believe You pointing out this Halloween candy thing to me as I read today was Your way of being gentle about me needing to work on growing the self-control fruit of the Spirit.

Prayer

Thank You for Your gentleness God! Here in the midst of Your wrath and judgment on the evil of mankind, those who never repented, You send me a gentle and loving message. You are amazing! God, please grow Your fruits of the Spirit within me, especially help me with self-control.