Daily Archives: May 15, 2017

May 15 – God is my Avenger

Sitting at the feet of Jesus is building a divine relationship. As with any relationship, it becomes easier to trust someone when we get to know them better.  In this 3-week study, we are seeking to get to know God better through the Psalms, to grow this divine relationship as we put our faith and hope in Him and love Him with all our heart. Join our study by reading today’s scripture below and journaling about it focused on today’s truth using SOAP (click on the “What’s SOAP?” link above to learn more). Comments are always welcome on our website for questions, discussion, and accountability.

Psalm 26

Of David.
Vindicate me, Lord,
    for I have led a blameless life;
I have trusted in the Lord
    and have not faltered.
Test me, Lord, and try me,
    examine my heart and my mind;
for I have always been mindful of your unfailing love
    and have lived in reliance on your faithfulness.
I do not sit with the deceitful,
    nor do I associate with hypocrites.
I abhor the assembly of evildoers
    and refuse to sit with the wicked.
I wash my hands in innocence,
    and go about your altar, Lord,
proclaiming aloud your praise
    and telling of all your wonderful deeds.
Lord, I love the house where you live,
    the place where your glory dwells.
Do not take away my soul along with sinners,
    my life with those who are bloodthirsty,
10 in whose hands are wicked schemes,
    whose right hands are full of bribes.
11 I lead a blameless life;
    deliver me and be merciful to me.
12 My feet stand on level ground;
    in the great congregation I will praise the Lord.

SOAP Note

God is my Avenger | Becky Newman

Scripture

Psalm 26:11-12

Observation

God has the power and authority to judge and enact punishment and to avenge evil through earthly and eternal consequences. A healthy fear of the Lord is understanding His power and authority. David wrote this psalm having experienced the wrath of God on the nations who bowed down to other gods and on Saul who turned his back on God. David knew he didn’t want to tick God off. Instead, he wanted to act in a way that pleased God — blameless, faithful, standing on the Rock.

Application

Just can’t stop thinking about God being a superhero with the title “Avenger” today. In my quiet time with You, You are the Father and Friend and Creator to me, gentle and compassionate and filling me with Your love. This characteristic of avenger — defined as someone who takes revenge on wrongs committed — is not a side of You I’m experienced with except through examples in Your Word. I know a healthy fear of You is important in my walk, tipping my choices to pleasing You rather than disappointing You. Understanding Your power and authority and knowing You are capable of avenging evil puts me in right place, humbly below You. You are in charge of judging and eternal consequences, and I can trust You because You are perfectly fair in the end.

Prayer

Father and Avenger, my feet stand on Your firm foundation, praising You for Your mighty power and authority and love and compassion. I know You are good and just, and I know Your final judgment will avenge evil and reward good. Thank You for loving good and hating evil.

The Discover One Thing main website follows a reading plan that goes through the entire Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.