Daily Archives: March 26, 2019

March 26 – Lenten Study Day 21

Lent is the 40-day period before Easter, and it is “a time for reflection, repentance, and renewal when Christians are invited to prepare themselves for the celebration of the Lord’s resurrection.” This Lent, we are doing a 40-day study from the American Bible Society to focus our time in God’s Word and prayer on His renewing power (click HERE for the reading plan). Join our study by reading today’s scripture below and journaling about it using SOAP (click on the “What’s SOAP?” link above to learn more). Below today’s scripture is an example SOAP from our team. Whether it’s your first time reading the Bible or you’ve been doing daily devotions for decades, God will use this One Thing to speak to you. We love hearing from you! Please use the comment section of our website to share your SOAP, thoughts or questions on the reading, or prayer requests. Join us as we build unity and community through God’s Word!

Lord God, by your Word fill me with a spirit of gratitude and thanksgiving…

Ephesians 5:6-20

Let no one deceive you with empty words, for because of such things God’s wrath comes on those who are disobedient. Therefore do not be partners with them.
For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Live as children of light (for the fruit of the light consists in all goodness, righteousness and truth) 10 and find out what pleases the Lord. 11 Have nothing to do with the fruitless deeds of darkness, but rather expose them. 12 It is shameful even to mention what the disobedient do in secret. 13 But everything exposed by the light becomes visible—and everything that is illuminated becomes a light. 14 This is why it is said:
“Wake up, sleeper,
    rise from the dead,
    and Christ will shine on you.”
15 Be very careful, then, how you live—not as unwise but as wise, 16 making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil. 17 Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the Lord’s will is. 18 Do not get drunk on wine, which leads to debauchery. Instead, be filled with the Spirit, 19 speaking to one another with psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit. Sing and make music from your heart to the Lord, 20 always giving thanks to God the Father for everything, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.

SOAP Note

Wake Up, Sleeper | Shiree King

Scripture

Ephesians 5:8, 14

Observation

Paul doesn’t only say that we were once “in” darkness but that we were darkness itself.  Likewise, we are not only “in” the light but “are” light in the Lord.  I found a quote from Charles Spurgeon on verse 14: “The man who is asleep does not care what becomes of his neighbors; how can he while he is asleep? And oh! Some of you Christians do not care whether souls are saved or damned… It is enough for them if they are comfortable. If they can attend a respectable place of worship and go with others to heaven, they are indifferent about everything else.”

Application

This passage was particularly convicting to me as I mentally replay an encounter on Friday where someone I just met was asking me (boldly but non-threateningly) several pointed questions on what I believe and doctrines of my denomination.  And I froze.  I was already a bit uncomfortable, this was very unexpected, and I’m just not good at words and explaining my beliefs.  So, I answered as minimally as possible, but I feel as if I squandered an opportunity to share Jesus with someone who was legitimately questioning.  As long as I am comfortable with myself and know I’m going to heaven, am I indifferent to other souls? Ouch!

Prayer

Dear God, Please forgive me for freezing at the opportunity to share You with my friend’s friend.  I don’t want to just “get by” and be comfortable at the expense of souls.  Forgive my indifference.  I want to be used by You to not only teach people to grow in their walks with You but also to come to know You.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

The Discover One Thing main website follows a reading plan that goes through the entire Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.