Daily Archives: August 11, 2017

August 11: Canaanite Woman – Matthew 15:21-28

This summer, we are looking to the women of the Bible for encouragement, advice, and examples of living life full with God.  In July and August, we’re reading the stories of Eve, Sarah, Hagar, Rebekah, Leah, Rachel, Miriam, Zipporah, Deborah, Hannah, Abigail, Proverbs 31 woman, Gomer, Elizabeth, all the Marys, Martha, woman at the well, bleeding woman, adulterous woman, Canaanite woman, Lydia, Eunice, Priscilla, and the Titus 2 woman.  Join our study by reading today’s scripture below and journaling about it using SOAP (click on the “What’s SOAP?” link above to learn more). An example SOAP from our team is below today’s Bible reading. Comments are always welcome on our website for questions, discussion, and accountability.

Canaanite Woman – Matthew 15:21-28

The Faith of a Canaanite Woman

21 Leaving that place, Jesus withdrew to the region of Tyre and Sidon. 22 A Canaanite woman from that vicinity came to him, crying out, “Lord, Son of David, have mercy on me! My daughter is demon-possessed and suffering terribly.”
23 Jesus did not answer a word. So his disciples came to him and urged him, “Send her away, for she keeps crying out after us.”
24 He answered, “I was sent only to the lost sheep of Israel.”
25 The woman came and knelt before him. “Lord, help me!” she said.
26 He replied, “It is not right to take the children’s bread and toss it to the dogs.”
27 “Yes it is, Lord,” she said. “Even the dogs eat the crumbs that fall from their master’s table.”
28 Then Jesus said to her, “Woman, you have great faith! Your request is granted.” And her daughter was healed at that moment.

SOAP Note

Great is Your Faithfulness | Dyea Rowland

Scripture

Matthew 15:28

Observation

A gentle and faithful woman came wholly to Jesus. Her daughter, possessed, knew Jesus was the only who could take her sickness and remove her disease.

Application

Jesus, You make me whole; You give hope for the future; You are in control of my future. When I forget about myself and worship You, it all comes together. I have been facing a lot of challenging things lately, to include some selfish “demons”. My faithfulness and trust needs to be in You.

Prayer

Father, a lot of growing pains lately…but because of them, I am forever thankful. I have been settling for those crumbs when I know I can have Bread. Grow my faith. In Jesus’ name…Amen.

The Discover One Thing main website follows a reading plan that goes through the entire Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.