August 9: Bleeding Woman – Mark 5:25-34

This summer, we are looking to the women of the Bible for encouragement, advice, and examples of living life full with God.  In July and August, we’re reading the stories of Eve, Sarah, Hagar, Rebekah, Leah, Rachel, Miriam, Zipporah, Deborah, Hannah, Abigail, Proverbs 31 woman, Gomer, Elizabeth, all the Marys, Martha, woman at the well, bleeding woman, adulterous woman, Canaanite woman, Lydia, Eunice, Priscilla, and the Titus 2 woman.  Join our study by reading today’s scripture below and journaling about it using SOAP (click on the “What’s SOAP?” link above to learn more). An example SOAP from our team is below today’s Bible reading. Comments are always welcome on our website for questions, discussion, and accountability.

Bleeding Woman – Mark 5:25-34

25 And a woman was there who had been subject to bleeding for twelve years. 26 She had suffered a great deal under the care of many doctors and had spent all she had, yet instead of getting better she grew worse. 27 When she heard about Jesus, she came up behind him in the crowd and touched his cloak, 28 because she thought, “If I just touch his clothes, I will be healed.” 29 Immediately her bleeding stopped and she felt in her body that she was freed from her suffering.
30 At once Jesus realized that power had gone out from him. He turned around in the crowd and asked, “Who touched my clothes?”
31 “You see the people crowding against you,” his disciples answered, “and yet you can ask, ‘Who touched me?’
32 But Jesus kept looking around to see who had done it. 33 Then the woman, knowing what had happened to her, came and fell at his feet and, trembling with fear, told him the whole truth. 34 He said to her, “Daughter, your faith has healed you. Go in peace and be freed from your suffering.”

SOAP Note

Have Faith | Rebecca Hoyt

Scripture

Mark 5:34

Observation

There is a multitude crowding around Jesus. But the women had so much faith and trust in Jesus, she knew by one touch, she would be healed. Not just anyone touching Jesus that day would be healed, but by her true trust in him, he healed her.

Application

So to be completely honest, when I first read the title bleeding woman I was thinking “oh great”. Obviously I haven’t read it for awhile because, boom, it was EXACTLY about my biggest issue! I have a major trust issue. I’m not sure where it came from; I never had it before I had kids; it is very hard for me to trust anyone with them, and everyday I struggle to give them to God completely. School is one of those things where I have to give complete control over to God because they are with strangers 7 hours a day. And this year both my kids are going to new schools, so I’ve really been working on putting my trust in Him.

Prayer

Dear Lord, thank You for always giving me the verses I need at the exact time I need it, whether I want to hear it or not. Please help me to let go of my need for control and trust You completely.

The Discover One Thing main website follows a reading plan that goes through the entire Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on August 9, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Response

