Daily Archives: August 4, 2017

August 4: Mary and Martha – Luke 10:38-42

This summer, we are looking to the women of the Bible for encouragement, advice, and examples of living life full with God.  In July and August, we’re reading the stories of Eve, Sarah, Hagar, Rebekah, Leah, Rachel, Miriam, Zipporah, Deborah, Hannah, Abigail, Proverbs 31 woman, Gomer, Elizabeth, all the Marys, Martha, woman at the well, bleeding woman, adulterous woman, Canaanite woman, Lydia, Eunice, Priscilla, and the Titus 2 woman.  Join our study by reading today’s scripture below and journaling about it using SOAP (click on the “What’s SOAP?” link above to learn more). An example SOAP from our team is below today’s Bible reading. Comments are always welcome on our website for questions, discussion, and accountability.

Mary and Martha – Luke 10:38-42

At the Home of Martha and Mary

38 As Jesus and his disciples were on their way, he came to a village where a woman named Martha opened her home to him. 39 She had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet listening to what he said. 40 But Martha was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made. She came to him and asked, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!”
41 “Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, 42 but few things are needed—or indeed only one. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.”

SOAP Note

Choosing What Is Good | Dyea Rowland

Scripture

Luke 10:42

Observation

With all the work that needed to be done, Martha was busy hosting all of the guests that had come to her home. The work of her relationship was not being chosen; the good was not being chosen.

Application

I can sense the anxiety that was setting in, overwhelmed by all that needed to be done and with no one chipping in to help, forgetting to choose what is good, getting caught up in all the details and forgetting that One Thing that matters. I have really been working hard to be like Mary, even though feeling like Martha. I am working hard to choose what is good over all the distractions; I am working hard to listen and to keep my focus on You.

Prayer

Father, continue to help me focus on my time with You. I tend to take charge and get preoccupied with all the things that truly do not matter. I don’t want to be robbed any longer of my hope, settling for disappointment. Let me choose what is good; let me choose You. In Jesus’ name…Amen.

The Discover One Thing main website follows a reading plan that goes through the entire Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

