Daily Archives: June 17, 2017

June 17-18 – Esther 5:1-8

This summer, we are looking to the women of the Bible for encouragement, advice, and examples of living life full with God.  In June, we’re reading the books of Esther and Ruth.  Join our study by reading today’s scripture below and journaling about it using SOAP (click on the “What’s SOAP?” link above to learn more). Comments are always welcome on our website for questions, discussion, and accountability.

Esther 5:1-8 – Esther’s Request to the King

On the third day Esther put on her royal robes and stood in the inner court of the palace, in front of the king’s hall. The king was sitting on his royal throne in the hall, facing the entrance. When he saw Queen Esther standing in the court, he was pleased with her and held out to her the gold scepter that was in his hand. So Esther approached and touched the tip of the scepter.
Then the king asked, “What is it, Queen Esther? What is your request? Even up to half the kingdom, it will be given you.”
“If it pleases the king,” replied Esther, “let the king, together with Haman, come today to a banquet I have prepared for him.”
“Bring Haman at once,” the king said, “so that we may do what Esther asks.”
So the king and Haman went to the banquet Esther had prepared. As they were drinking wine, the king again asked Esther, “Now what is your petition? It will be given you. And what is your request? Even up to half the kingdom, it will be granted.”
Esther replied, “My petition and my request is this: If the king regards me with favor and if it pleases the king to grant my petition and fulfill my request, let the king and Haman come tomorrow to the banquet I will prepare for them. Then I will answer the king’s question.”

SOAP Note

It’s Go Time | Jess Howell

Scripture

Esther 5:1

Observation

Esther had requested Mordecai to gather the Jews to pray and fast before she approached the king. And today was the day. There was a very real possibility that she would be in some hot water for approaching the king uninvited. But she still prepared herself to bring her request to the king, in hopes that her prayers to God for protection would be heard.

Application

Verse 1 of this chapter leaves much to imagine. Esther is standing in the inner courts of the palace in front of the king’s hall. What was she thinking? Was she internally freaking out like I would be in her shoes? Or had God calmed her thoughts for her to walk in boldly. We don’t know if perhaps it was coincidence that the king saw her first as he was facing the entrance, but it seems as though that is what God had planned all along. There have been MANY times when I too have been standing just outside a difficult circumstance with no clue how to begin to overcome it. I struggle greatly with the human tendency to freak out without coming to God first for peace and clarity. I wrestled with my inner self just over a week ago when our finances took a nose dive. I felt out of control yet I knew I needed to turn it over to God. Once I did, it gave Him the opportunity to invite me in to experience His love and Grace, and the power to control the things I cannot.

Prayer

God, I like to imagine that You have a sense of humor when You see me struggle with something that You know I always fight with. How many times do You wish You could say, “I told you so!”? I swear I hear it sometimes. Thank You for always coming through for me – for showing me that You are, and forever will be, my provider. Amen.

The Discover One Thing main website follows a reading plan that goes through the entire Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.