May 25 – God is Worthy of Praise

Sitting at the feet of Jesus is building a divine relationship. As with any relationship, it becomes easier to trust someone when we get to know them better.  In this 3-week study, we are seeking to get to know God better through the Psalms, to grow this divine relationship as we put our faith and hope in Him and love Him with all our heart. Join our study by reading today’s scripture below and journaling about it focused on today’s truth using SOAP (click on the “What’s SOAP?” link above to learn more). Comments are always welcome on our website for questions, discussion, and accountability.

Psalm 95

Come, let us sing for joy to the Lord;
    let us shout aloud to the Rock of our salvation.
Let us come before him with thanksgiving
    and extol him with music and song.
For the Lord is the great God,
    the great King above all gods.
In his hand are the depths of the earth,
    and the mountain peaks belong to him.
The sea is his, for he made it,
    and his hands formed the dry land.
Come, let us bow down in worship,
    let us kneel before the Lord our Maker;
for he is our God
    and we are the people of his pasture,
    the flock under his care.
Today, if only you would hear his voice,
“Do not harden your hearts as you did at Meribah,
    as you did that day at Massah in the wilderness,
where your ancestors tested me;
    they tried me, though they had seen what I did.
10 For forty years I was angry with that generation;
    I said, ‘They are a people whose hearts go astray,
    and they have not known my ways.’
11 So I declared on oath in my anger,
    ‘They shall never enter my rest.’”

SOAP Note

God is Worthy of Praise | Becky Newman

Scripture

Psalm 95:6-7

Observation

This psalm is an invitation to surrender to God, to openly admit in fellowship with others that You are in charge, not me. The act of kneeling before You is submission to Your way and acknowledgement that You made it and You sustain it and You’ve got a plan, a good plan. My Bible notes suggest that we can’t fully worship You if we haven’t fully surrendered to You. Sometimes trust holds us back, like in the examples the psalmist gives in verses 8-11 — the Israelites having trust issues with God so He made them wander for 40 years, thus only the next generation would get to see the Promised Land. You are continually caring for us, even when we don’t see it or feel it or acknowledge it.

Application

In Sunday’s sermon, the pastor mentioned the story of Jacob who was born as a deceiver and struggled in relationship with God for many years. He even wrestled with God all night long; but in the morning, he realized that God was all he ever really needed. He broke; he no longer desired the control and acknowledged God had it all along. And that’s the moment God changed his name from Jacob, just a sinful man, to Israel, a nation of God’s people. Only when Jacob let go of control could God’s plan for him and his ancestors unfold. Worship is the time for me to let go and let You! You made me; You care for me; I am Yours; I belong to You!

Prayer

I surrender before You, my God and my Creator and my Sustainer! The plans You have are beautiful. Help me get out of the way and let You work! You are worthy of all my praise!

The Discover One Thing main website follows a reading plan that goes through the entire Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on May 25, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Response

