May 17 – God is my Healer

Sitting at the feet of Jesus is building a divine relationship. As with any relationship, it becomes easier to trust someone when we get to know them better.  In this 3-week study, we are seeking to get to know God better through the Psalms, to grow this divine relationship as we put our faith and hope in Him and love Him with all our heart. Join our study by reading today’s scripture below and journaling about it focused on today’s truth using SOAP (click on the “What’s SOAP?” link above to learn more). Comments are always welcome on our website for questions, discussion, and accountability.

Psalm 30

A psalm. A song. For the dedication of the temple. Of David.
I will exalt you, Lord,
    for you lifted me out of the depths
    and did not let my enemies gloat over me.
Lord my God, I called to you for help,
    and you healed me.
You, Lord, brought me up from the realm of the dead;
    you spared me from going down to the pit.
Sing the praises of the Lord, you his faithful people;
    praise his holy name.
For his anger lasts only a moment,
    but his favor lasts a lifetime;
weeping may stay for the night,
    but rejoicing comes in the morning.
When I felt secure, I said,
    “I will never be shaken.”
Lord, when you favored me,
    you made my royal mountain stand firm;
but when you hid your face,
    I was dismayed.
To you, Lord, I called;
    to the Lord I cried for mercy:
“What is gained if I am silenced,
    if I go down to the pit?
Will the dust praise you?
    Will it proclaim your faithfulness?
10 Hear, Lord, and be merciful to me;
    Lord, be my help.”
11 You turned my wailing into dancing;
    you removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy,
12 that my heart may sing your praises and not be silent.
    Lord my God, I will praise you forever.

SOAP Note

God is my Healer | Rebecca Hoyt

Scripture

Psalm 30:2, 5, 11

Observation

My Bible notes — David felt secure when he enjoyed prosperity and everything was going well. In his self-sufficiency, he failed to depend on God. When something bad happened, he turned to God for help and wisely thanked God for His deliverance, having learned a lesson through his painful ordeal.

Application

It is so amazing that these verses completely sum up my families 2017 and this weekend. We rejoice that my child’s diagnosis wasn’t worse, but we are still waiting on a treatment that will heal her, that will take her pain away. My older child has been down this week about having a hard time with math, but she found out she’s good at poetry, and some kids at school told her she was really good at it. This weekend we celebrated Mothers Day, dance recital, and our 18th wedding anniversary. My Bible verse 30:11 says, “You have turned for me my mourning into dancing.” With the fun stuff of the weekend also comes stress; we had many ups and downs but by Monday night (and some beautiful flowers), we had all turned our mourning into dancing.

Prayer

Thank You, dear God, for turning our mourning into dancing. Thank You for the chance to be the mom of two amazing kids and getting to be married to my husband for 18years — there has been a lot of mourning in those 18 years but even more rejoicing!

The Discover One Thing main website follows a reading plan that goes through the entire Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on May 17, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Response

