May 8 – God is my Shield

Sitting at the feet of Jesus is building a divine relationship. As with any relationship, it becomes easier to trust someone when we get to know them better.  In this 3-week study, we are seeking  to get to know God better through the Psalms, to grow this divine relationship as we put our faith and hope in Him and love Him with all our heart. Join our study by reading today’s scripture below and journaling about it focused on today’s truth using SOAP (click on the “What’s SOAP?” link above to learn more). Comments are always welcome on our website for questions, discussion, and accountability.

Psalm 3

A psalm of David. When he fled from his son Absalom.
Lord, how many are my foes!
    How many rise up against me!
Many are saying of me,
    “God will not deliver him.”
But you, Lord, are a shield around me,
    my glory, the One who lifts my head high.
I call out to the Lord,
    and he answers me from his holy mountain.
I lie down and sleep;
    I wake again, because the Lord sustains me.
I will not fear though tens of thousands
    assail me on every side.
Arise, Lord!
    Deliver me, my God!
Strike all my enemies on the jaw;
    break the teeth of the wicked.
From the Lord comes deliverance.
    May your blessing be on your people.

SOAP Note

God is my Shield | Becky Newman

Scripture

Psalm 3:3-4

Observation

David wrote this psalm about being under attack by his own son. That’s a pretty dark place. But by this time in his life, he knew You through experience and plenty of opportunities to call on You and witness Your faithfulness. So, David calls on You first in the midst of hardship because he knows only You have the power to protect him and keep his head held high. In the armor of God, the shield of faith is what you use to extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one (Ephesians 6:16).

Application

Your Shield surrounds me and protects me both physically and spiritually. You are my help when I’m under attack. You desire relationship with me and are pleased when I call out to You in the yuck. And it also pleases You to answer me. Your Shield is stronger and more reliable than any earthly protection, even my own husband’s protection, and I am thankful that You shield me.

Prayer

Thank You for always protecting me from the world and from evil. Continue to shield me, surround me in Your powerful awesome mighty protection! I also pray protection for my family. Please extend Your Shield over them too and grow their faith as You’ve grown mine.

The Discover One Thing main website follows a reading plan that goes through the entire Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on May 8, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Response

