April 20 – You Are Special

For the next three weeks, we will be studying our identity through God’s eyes. We will be looking at scriptural truths describing how God sees us as His children. Let these truths penetrate your being, as if God is speaking these words looking right at you. Hang these truths on your mirror so that you will see yourself through His eyes more than through the world’s eyes. Join our study by reading today’s scripture below and journaling about it focused on today’s truth using SOAP (click on the “What’s SOAP?” link above to learn more). Comments are always welcome on our website for questions, discussion, and accountability.

Ephesians 2:1-10

Made Alive in Christ
As for you, you were dead in your transgressions and sins, in which you used to live when you followed the ways of this world and of the ruler of the kingdom of the air, the spirit who is now at work in those who are disobedient. All of us also lived among them at one time, gratifying the cravings of our flesh and following its desires and thoughts. Like the rest, we were by nature deserving of wrath. But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions—it is by grace you have been saved. And God raised us up with Christ and seated us with him in the heavenly realms in Christ Jesus, in order that in the coming ages he might show the incomparable riches of his grace, expressed in his kindness to us in Christ Jesus. For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast. 10 For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

SOAP Note

I Am Special | Becky Newman

Scripture

Ephesians 2:10

Observation

Ephesians 2:1-10 describes how we have been resurrected with Jesus to life — “But because of His great love for us, God who is rich in mercy made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions” (Ephesians 2:4-5). God’s handiwork/masterpiece/work of art is how God created me specially; the talents, abilities, and experiences He uniquely designed in me that make me. Through Christ, His masterpiece is complete because then He can use these talents, abilities, and experiences to do the good works He planned for me to do.

Application

I have a purpose to fulfill, a life mission that God placed in me and that is for His glory and not mine. When I feel my heartstrings being pulled, this is an indication of the passions God designed in me that will guide me to fulfilling His purpose. Just as a sunset is a special beautiful creation of God, so am I a special beautiful creation of God on a smaller scale of size and time. He cares about every miniscule detail. I am recognizing this more and more. You’ve taken all my likes and talents and then given me opportunities to use them for Your glory. It’s Your masterpiece; I’m just living it out alive in Jesus. But I know that I need to be careful of my sin tendency to seek approval and being known from others and to always instead humble myself under You from whom it all comes and to whom deserves the glory of being known.

Prayer

Lord, when I start seeking approval and belonging from others, please re-direct my eyes to focus on You and recognize You. You approve me through Jesus; I belong to You, in Your family. Remind me that You have designed me specially to fulfill Your purpose which is far greater and more awesome than any purpose I could piece together for myself. Thank You for creating me special with Your purpose in mind.

The Discover One Thing main website follows a reading plan that goes through the entire Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on April 20, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Response

