April 19 – You Are Loved

For the next three weeks, we will be studying our identity through God’s eyes. We will be looking at scriptural truths describing how God sees us as His children. Let these truths penetrate your being, as if God is speaking these words looking right at you. Hang these truths on your mirror so that you will see yourself through His eyes more than through the world’s eyes. Join our study by reading today’s scripture below and journaling about it focused on today’s truth using SOAP (click on the “What’s SOAP?” link above to learn more). Comments are always welcome on our website for questions, discussion, and accountability.

Jeremiah 31:1-14

“At that time,” declares the Lord, “I will be the God of all the families of Israel, and they will be my people.”
This is what the Lord says:
“The people who survive the sword
    will find favor in the wilderness;
    I will come to give rest to Israel.”
The Lord appeared to us in the past, saying:
“I have loved you with an everlasting love;
    I have drawn you with unfailing kindness.
I will build you up again,
    and you, Virgin Israel, will be rebuilt.
Again you will take up your timbrels
    and go out to dance with the joyful.
Again you will plant vineyards
    on the hills of Samaria;
the farmers will plant them
    and enjoy their fruit.
There will be a day when watchmen cry out
    on the hills of Ephraim,
‘Come, let us go up to Zion,
    to the Lord our God.’”
This is what the Lord says:
“Sing with joy for Jacob;
    shout for the foremost of the nations.
Make your praises heard, and say,
    Lord, save your people,
    the remnant of Israel.’
See, I will bring them from the land of the north
    and gather them from the ends of the earth.
Among them will be the blind and the lame,
    expectant mothers and women in labor;
    a great throng will return.
They will come with weeping;
    they will pray as I bring them back.
I will lead them beside streams of water
    on a level path where they will not stumble,
because I am Israel’s father,
    and Ephraim is my firstborn son.
10 “Hear the word of the Lord, you nations;
    proclaim it in distant coastlands:
‘He who scattered Israel will gather them
    and will watch over his flock like a shepherd.’
11 For the Lord will deliver Jacob
    and redeem them from the hand of those stronger than they.
12 They will come and shout for joy on the heights of Zion;
    they will rejoice in the bounty of the Lord
the grain, the new wine and the olive oil,
    the young of the flocks and herds.
They will be like a well-watered garden,
    and they will sorrow no more.
13 Then young women will dance and be glad,
    young men and old as well.
I will turn their mourning into gladness;
    I will give them comfort and joy instead of sorrow.
14 I will satisfy the priests with abundance,
    and my people will be filled with my bounty,”
declares the Lord.

SOAP Note

Love, Joy, and Rejoicing | Rebecca Hoyt

Scripture

Jeremiah 31:3, 13

Observation

My Bible notes that verse 3 is forward looking and hopeful, referring to the day of Israel’s restoration. God’s loving-kindness has always been manifested to Israel and is everlasting.  He promises an incredible blessing — the reunification of Israel (northern and southern kingdoms) under Yahweh.  Verse 13 – the re-gathering of Israel to its home served as a witness before other nations to God’s sovereignty, protection, and power as He ransomed Israel from a powerful  oppressor. Joy, as a contrast to weeping and discouragement, emerges prominently in this lyrical passage. This joy stemmed from God’s goodness demonstrated through abundant agricultural production and the consolation prompted by their return to their homeland and by their spiritual restoration to God.

Application

Sometimes I forget just how much we are loved by God. I like the words my Bible uses – “loved you with an everlasting love, with loving kindness I have drawn you.” I’m trying to teach my kids that there is nothing they can do to make God not love them; His love is everlasting. (I was reading this to one of my kids, and she said because He’s full of love and built for love) I also love in verse 13 when it says, “I will turn their mourning to joy, will comfort them, and make them rejoice rather than sorrow”. This verse does comfort me; sometimes as adults we need to hear God saying give Me your worries and fears; it’s going to be ok.

Prayer

Dear Lord, thank You for loving me with an everlasting love. Thank You for giving me these verses at just the time I need them, and helping me to check my attitude to see if it’s joy instead of sorrow.

The Discover One Thing main website follows a reading plan that goes through the entire Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on April 19, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Response

