Gospels in 40 Days – April 4

Welcome to our study of the gospels during the Lenten season. Lent is the Christian tradition of preparing for the resurrection of Jesus by taking intentional steps to grow closer to God during the 40 days before Easter.  The tradition mirrors Jesus going into the wilderness to fast and pray for 40 days, where he was tempted by Satan but was able to resist, strengthen, and grow his ministry for the days ahead (Matthew 4). Typical Lenten observances include fasting, repentance, moderation, self-denial, and spiritual discipline.

To join the study, pick a reading plan to follow, journal on the day’s reading using the SOAP method of Bible study (see “What’s SOAP?” on our website for details), and check in for daily posts from our study leaders. We hope you will join us this season, intentionally stepping toward God!

Scripture

John was one of Jesus’ closest apostles. He often referred to himself in his gospel as the disciple Jesus loved. He was also pretty young when he walked with Jesus and watched him die on the cross, and he later played a large role in the expansion of Christianity, penning 1, 2, and 3 John and Revelation as well as his gospel and pastoring a church in Ephesus. His gospel is the most relational of the four gospels as it best describes who Jesus is and helps us to know him better.

Clicking on the following links will take you to the Bible Gateway website where you can read the NIV version of today’s reading:

ALL OF IT: John 3-4

MOST OF IT: John 4:46-54

HIGHLIGHT REEL: John 4:46-54

Discussion Question

Are you obedient and trusting or full of excuses and questioning? 

SOAP Note

Can It Be That Simple? | Dyea Rowland

Scripture

John 4:11 – “Sir,” the woman said, “you have nothing to draw with and the well is deep. Where can you get this living water?”

Observation

Jesus has just told the woman that if she knew who he was, she would be asking him for water. But it appears it can’t be that simple. She said, even though respectfully (I’m sure)…you don’t have a bucket; the well is too deep; where would you get this water; and you’re telling me that your water is better than these important ancestors of mine. And Jesus explains that she needs to drink his water, and it is as simple as that.

Application

I have been doubting You a lot lately, taking the simple things, like trust and questioning Your promises, things that You’ve said…that I know are true. If I’m not putting You in a box, I am getting ahead of You and then wonder why things can’t just be simple. Let me not make the simple things so complex. Let me just drink of Your living water; Your true promises. Let me stop making the excuses in rebellion, not to be in Your Word or in prayer because You haven’t done the things that I think or thought You should have done, in my timing. Remind me that it can be that simple. Let me be obedient and trusting.

Prayer

Father, wow. I know that You are growing me; I know I am the one who is doing the questioning and making excuses as to why I am not drinking all of Your goodness. Please forgive me and help me see that it is not about me and that You satisfy. I am thankful for this time. In Jesus’ name…Amen.

The Discover One Thing main website follows a reading plan that goes through the entire Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on April 4, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Response

