Gospels in 40 Days – March 3

Welcome to our study of the gospels during the Lenten season. Lent is the Christian tradition of preparing for the resurrection of Jesus by taking intentional steps to grow closer to God during the 40 days before Easter.  The tradition mirrors Jesus going into the wilderness to fast and pray for 40 days, where he was tempted by Satan but was able to resist, strengthen, and grow his ministry for the days ahead (Matthew 4). Typical Lenten observances include fasting, repentance, moderation, self-denial, and spiritual discipline.

To join the study, pick a reading plan to follow, journal on the day’s reading using the SOAP method of Bible study (see “What’s SOAP?” on our website for details), and check in for daily posts from our study leaders. We hope you will join us this season, intentionally stepping toward God!

Scripture

Mark is a good gospel to start in because it approaches Jesus’ life from the view of an outsider. His gospel was written mainly for an audience who didn’t grow up Jewish, so he explains traditions a bit more. And his gospel focuses on Jesus’ actions rather than his teachings. His purpose was to tell the Good News of Jesus. Mark didn’t know Jesus personally, but he did hang around with Peter, Paul, and Barnabas, and likely got most of the facts in his gospel from them.

Clicking on the following links will take you to the Bible Gateway website where you can read the NIV version of today’s reading:

Mark 7-9 or Mark 6:30-52

Discussion Question

What does God want us to be hungry for in this world? 

SOAP Note

Who’s Hungry? | Dyea Rowland

Scripture

Mark 6:41-43

Observation

The disciples had re-connected with Jesus. So many things to be done. Sounds like the present world we live in, right? All were hungry. Again, just like present day. But were these folks hungry for the right thing — the kind of things to fill their souls or just the things that fill their bellies? What are you hungry for?

Application

We are hungry for so many things in this world. There are so many things that I am hungry for — my family, making a difference, and yes, and still, my hunger for coffee. Sometimes I wonder if I am more hungry for those things? I believe I have been, especially lately, rather than for You? Recently, I too have been coming to You to fill my physical hunger, rather than my spiritual. I know what I am to do, and I know what I am hungry for. So count me in…I’m hungry! I am hungry for You, for more of You, for ALL of You.

Prayer

Father, thank You for feeding me, always…in more ways than I can ever imagine. Let these next 40 days be days that I fill myself on You, only You, and all of Your goodness. In Jesus’ name…Amen.

The Discover One Thing main website follows a reading plan that goes through the entire Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on March 3, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Response

