Daniel 12 – January 30

Today’s our last day in Daniel, but we’re continuing on with the story of God’s chosen people returning to Jerusalem. We’ll start the book of Ezra on February 1, and we hope you’ll join us! Join our study by following along with the reading plan then reflecting and journaling on each day’s reading to humble yourself before Him and listen. Below is the NIV version of today’s reading followed by a SOAP journal note from one of our study leaders. If you’re wondering what SOAP is…it’s a method of Bible study that focuses on applying scripture to our every days. Read more about it on our website.

Daniel 12 – The End Times

12 “At that time Michael, the great prince who protects your people, will arise. There will be a time of distress such as has not happened from the beginning of nations until then. But at that time your people—everyone whose name is found written in the book—will be delivered. Multitudes who sleep in the dust of the earth will awake: some to everlasting life, others to shame and everlasting contempt. Those who are wise will shine like the brightness of the heavens, and those who lead many to righteousness, like the stars for ever and ever. But you, Daniel, roll up and seal the words of the scroll until the time of the end. Many will go here and there to increase knowledge.”
Then I, Daniel, looked, and there before me stood two others, one on this bank of the river and one on the opposite bank. One of them said to the man clothed in linen, who was above the waters of the river, “How long will it be before these astonishing things are fulfilled?”
The man clothed in linen, who was above the waters of the river, lifted his right hand and his left hand toward heaven, and I heard him swear by him who lives forever, saying, “It will be for a time, times and half a time. When the power of the holy people has been finally broken, all these things will be completed.”
I heard, but I did not understand. So I asked, “My lord, what will the outcome of all this be?”
He replied, “Go your way, Daniel, because the words are rolled up and sealed until the time of the end. 10 Many will be purified, made spotless and refined, but the wicked will continue to be wicked. None of the wicked will understand, but those who are wise will understand.
11 “From the time that the daily sacrifice is abolished and the abomination that causes desolation is set up, there will be 1,290 days. 12 Blessed is the one who waits for and reaches the end of the 1,335 days.
13 “As for you, go your way till the end. You will rest, and then at the end of the days you will rise to receive your allotted inheritance.”

Your Way | Becky Newman

Scripture

Daniel 12:9-10

Observation

This last chapter of Daniel has some things I just love. First, my Bible notes that it’s the first place in the Old Testament where everlasting life is promised (vs. 1-2). Second, I love that Daniel sees the man in linen, who can clearly be associated with Jesus, standing on the water (vs. 6-7), thus foreshadowing the miracle of Jesus walking on the water. And last, I love this message in verse 9, which Jesus repeats and re-emphasizes in verse 13. Daniel is concerned about all the details Jesus has revealed, but Jesus’ final message to him is not to worry, just keep doing what you’ve faithfully been doing. Jesus’ final words in Daniel exude peace. Jesus specifically says to “go your way”, which made me stop for a second because going “my way” is going to get me in trouble. But Jesus knew Daniel and knew that his way was God’s way.

Application

The message to me is to make sure I’m going Your way. The end times are going to happen just as You have ordained; there’s nothing I can do to change that, but in the meantime, I need to keep going Your way. In the meantime, You’re going to send opportunities for purification and refining my way, and my duty is to keep going Your way through it. Our next studies in Ezra and Nehemiah next month are going to help us with some of that too; please let these studies purify and refine us, Lord! In moms group last week, we discussed what it looks like to be ready for Jesus’ return, similar to what it looks like to be going God’s way. My Word for 2017 “abide” is a big part of this, remaining in God through focus, prayer, Your Word, and then in the purification and refining, running to You first. But it’s not isolation because You command to love God above all and to love others. I think part of the reason for all the details Jesus revealed at the end of Daniel is to give us hearts of compassion for others. We don’t want our loved ones to fall into this category of “wicked”. I don’t want anyone to fall in this category, and You don’t either. But they have to know You and go Your way to get out of this category. Part of going Your way is making sure my words and actions are shining Your light so that You can be seen and known wherever I go, hopefully along Your way making tiny and sometimes big steps in getting others out of wickedness.

Prayer

Lord, keep my feet going Your way, unceasing forever, in my one-on-one with You and in my interactions with others. Help me in my words and actions to point others Your way too. I pray for the “wicked” that they may come to know You and follow You and be forgiven.

The Discover One Thing main website follows a reading plan that goes through the entire Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on January 30, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I wish there was another chapter of Daniel! To see what happened next! Such a peaceful ending for Daniel – to be promised his inheritance was coming – that he wasn’t to worry about the timing of everything. I kept thinking to myself “oh, how wonderful for Daniel to have that promise.” And then that quiet voice said, “You have it too dear girl.” We all do, but we have to work a little harder to get to where Daniel was to trust God with EVERYTHING. God, help me to release EVERYTHING to you like Daniel did. I want that peace that You showed him! Amen

    Like

Leave a Response

