Daniel 10:10-11:1 – January 24

Who’s really in charge of your 2017? To start us out in our right place this new year, we’re walking with Daniel this month, learning how God crafts every detail in His plan from creation of the world and history to the smallest details in our lives. He reigns over everything, and still He loves us through every moment of our lives. Join our study by following along with the reading plan then reflecting and journaling on each day’s reading to humble yourself before Him and listen. Below is the NIV version of today’s reading followed by a SOAP journal note from one of our study leaders. If you’re wondering what SOAP is…it’s a method of Bible study that focuses on applying scripture to our every days. Read more about it on our website.

Daniel 10:10-11:1 – Daniel’s Vision of a Man

10 A hand touched me and set me trembling on my hands and knees. 11 He said, “Daniel, you who are highly esteemed, consider carefully the words I am about to speak to you, and stand up, for I have now been sent to you.” And when he said this to me, I stood up trembling.
12 Then he continued, “Do not be afraid, Daniel. Since the first day that you set your mind to gain understanding and to humble yourself before your God, your words were heard, and I have come in response to them. 13 But the prince of the Persian kingdom resisted me twenty-one days. Then Michael, one of the chief princes, came to help me, because I was detained there with the king of Persia. 14 Now I have come to explain to you what will happen to your people in the future, for the vision concerns a time yet to come.”
15 While he was saying this to me, I bowed with my face toward the ground and was speechless. 16 Then one who looked like a man touched my lips, and I opened my mouth and began to speak. I said to the one standing before me, “I am overcome with anguish because of the vision, my lord, and I feel very weak. 17 How can I, your servant, talk with you, my lord? My strength is gone and I can hardly breathe.”
18 Again the one who looked like a man touched me and gave me strength. 19 “Do not be afraid, you who are highly esteemed,” he said. “Peace! Be strong now; be strong.”
When he spoke to me, I was strengthened and said, “Speak, my lord, since you have given me strength.”
20 So he said, “Do you know why I have come to you? Soon I will return to fight against the prince of Persia, and when I go, the prince of Greece will come; 21 but first I will tell you what is written in the Book of Truth. (No one supports me against them except Michael, your prince.
 11 And in the first year of Darius the Mede, I took my stand to support and protect him.)

Stay in the Fight | Dyea Rowland

Scripture

Daniel 10:12-13

Observation

From yesterday’s reading and finishing it out today, we see Daniel is being prepared for his vision (ch. 11). There seems to be so much weight on his “strength” and the “unseen.” There is much dialog about Daniel and how he lacks strength and also the demonic interference. In verse 12, Daniel is encountered by an Angel of God, who tells him that from the day he started praying, his (Daniel’s) words were heard. Daniel seems to have a special way of going before the Lord. He would humble himself, fast, and pray — no wonder he was God’s beloved. Did you take note of the time frame in verses 2 and 13? Three weeks (vs. 2), the 21 days (vs. 13) while Daniel was presenting himself to God (fasting and in mourning), the Angel of God (possibly Gabriel) was met by a demonic angel. This dark angel, the prince of Persia, endured until Michael arrived. This intervention conquered the battle (the unseen battle going on). The Angels were able to do what they needed to do because Daniel was strong and he stayed in the fight.

Application

I know You are preparing me for what is about to come…whatever that is and whatever it looks like. There have been so many times that I have wanted to quit the fight, and many times I have. What a good reminder that even though prayers are going up and being heard, there is an enemy trying to run interference. I want to be strong like Daniel – he has self-discipline, but mostly, I love how he humbles himself before he even starts praying to You. You give strength; You send messengers to answer prayers and to fight our battles…now I just need to stay in the fight.

Prayer

Father, what a great Word today. Thanks for the encouragement, I don’t want to give up on things that You have purposed in my heart. Let me humble myself before You; let me continue to pray always; and let me always find that strength given by You to stay in that fight. In Jesus’ name…Amen.

The Discover One Thing main website follows a reading plan that goes through the entire Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on January 24, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Response

