Daniel 10:1-9 – January 23

Who’s really in charge of your 2017? To start us out in our right place this new year, we’re walking with Daniel this month, learning how God crafts every detail in His plan from creation of the world and history to the smallest details in our lives. He reigns over everything, and still He loves us through every moment of our lives. Join our study by following along with the reading plan then reflecting and journaling on each day’s reading to humble yourself before Him and listen. Below is the NIV version of today’s reading followed by a SOAP journal note from one of our study leaders. If you’re wondering what SOAP is…it’s a method of Bible study that focuses on applying scripture to our every days. Read more about it on our website.

Daniel 10:1-9 – Daniel’s Vision of a Man

10 In the third year of Cyrus king of Persia, a revelation was given to Daniel (who was called Belteshazzar). Its message was true and it concerned a great war. The understanding of the message came to him in a vision.
At that time I, Daniel, mourned for three weeks. I ate no choice food; no meat or wine touched my lips; and I used no lotions at all until the three weeks were over.
On the twenty-fourth day of the first month, as I was standing on the bank of the great river, the Tigris, I looked up and there before me was a man dressed in linen, with a belt of fine gold from Uphaz around his waist. His body was like topaz, his face like lightning, his eyes like flaming torches, his arms and legs like the gleam of burnished bronze, and his voice like the sound of a multitude.
I, Daniel, was the only one who saw the vision; those who were with me did not see it, but such terror overwhelmed them that they fled and hid themselves. So I was left alone, gazing at this great vision; I had no strength left, my face turned deathly pale and I was helpless. Then I heard him speaking, and as I listened to him, I fell into a deep sleep, my face to the ground.

The Unseen | Becky Newman

Scripture

Daniel 10:5-7

Observation

Our God does not just sit up in heaven watching the circus of failures from up above and not intervening. He loves us too much. He reveals Himself and His presence with us in this world, sometimes in little ways and sometimes in big ways like these verses in Daniel. The little revelation here was to the others who were with Daniel. I think their relationships with God were either limited or nonexistent, and that’s why they couldn’t see the vision but they could feel something out of the ordinary and responded in fear. The big revelation was to Daniel who had a strong faith in God, so strong that God gave him glimpses into the eternal — “So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” (2 Corinthians 4:18) The vision that Daniel saw seems familiar, like I’ve read it somewhere before. That’s because the apostle John had a similar vision of the eternal Jesus Christ recorded in Revelation 1:12-18. What makes John and Daniel different, that God allows them to see the unseen? Both have strong faith in and relationships with God, but also both have passionate hearts for others. Daniel’s compassion for others is evident in his prayers, interceding and pleading for his people and in the constant love he shows for the kings he serves. John’s compassion for others comes out through his writing in his gospel and 1-3 John as he shares what Christ’s love should look like. Through these two things — (1) loving God above all and (2) loving others — they have grown strong hearts for God, and He uses that to reveal Himself so that they can communicate these revelations to us who maybe don’t have that strong and deep of faith. Through these vessels, we can experience the unseen and have a stronger faith that eternity exists.

Application

Without these recorded experiences of the unseen, my faith would be weaker. I am thankful for these big revelations that You allowed. And I should continue looking for the little revelations of You every day. You are very present in this world, and if my eyes are fixed on You, I will see it.

Prayer

Lord, open my eyes to all the many ways that You are present here. Help me to abide in fixing my eyes on You and continue growing my faith, loving You above all and that pouring into loving others.

The Discover One Thing main website follows a reading plan that goes through the entire Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on January 23, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Response

