Daniel 8:15-27 – January 19

Who’s really in charge of your 2017? To start us out in our right place this new year, we’re walking with Daniel this month, learning how God crafts every detail in His plan from creation of the world and history to the smallest details in our lives. He reigns over everything, and still He loves us through every moment of our lives. Join our study by following along with the reading plan then reflecting and journaling on each day’s reading to humble yourself before Him and listen. Below is the NIV version of today’s reading followed by a SOAP journal note from one of our study leaders. If you’re wondering what SOAP is…it’s a method of Bible study that focuses on applying scripture to our every days. Read more about it on our website.

Daniel 8:15-27 – The Interpretation of the Vision

15 While I, Daniel, was watching the vision and trying to understand it, there before me stood one who looked like a man. 16 And I heard a man’s voice from the Ulai calling, “Gabriel, tell this man the meaning of the vision.”
17 As he came near the place where I was standing, I was terrified and fell prostrate. “Son of man,” he said to me, “understand that the vision concerns the time of the end.”
18 While he was speaking to me, I was in a deep sleep, with my face to the ground. Then he touched me and raised me to my feet.
19 He said: “I am going to tell you what will happen later in the time of wrath, because the vision concerns the appointed time of the end. 20 The two-horned ram that you saw represents the kings of Media and Persia. 21 The shaggy goat is the king of Greece, and the large horn between its eyes is the first king. 22 The four horns that replaced the one that was broken off represent four kingdoms that will emerge from his nation but will not have the same power.
23 “In the latter part of their reign, when rebels have become completely wicked, a fierce-looking king, a master of intrigue, will arise. 24 He will become very strong, but not by his own power. He will cause astounding devastation and will succeed in whatever he does. He will destroy those who are mighty, the holy people. 25 He will cause deceit to prosper, and he will consider himself superior. When they feel secure, he will destroy many and take his stand against the Prince of princes. Yet he will be destroyed, but not by human power.
26 “The vision of the evenings and mornings that has been given you is true, but seal up the vision, for it concerns the distant future.”
27 I, Daniel, was worn out. I lay exhausted for several days. Then I got up and went about the king’s business. I was appalled by the vision; it was beyond understanding.

Get Back to Work | Becky Newman

Scripture

Daniel 8:27

Observation

Daniel has just had a vision of the future, complete with weird symbolism, suppression and destruction of his people, and the angel Gabriel interpreting it all. And to top it off, after receiving this revelation, he’s told to keep it quiet. There’s nothing he can do to prevent it from happening is basically what that means. That’s why he’s exhausted and, basically, paralyzed for a few days. I’m sure a billion questions were going through Daniel’s head — why God are You giving me this knowledge when I can do nothing about it? What am I supposed to do with this? Why are You allowing Your people to suffer? But his paralysis, which is more like processing time, only lasts a few days. To me, Daniel’s response is what’s important; he gets back to work for the king…and for The King. During this time of exhaustion and processing, God tells him to just keep doing what you’ve been doing. For Daniel, that means keep doing his administrative work for King Belshazzar but also it means keep praying three times a day, keep asking for help, keep thanking Me, and keep being a light where I’ve put you.

Application

Tides of being overwhelmed come and go; it’s just part of living in this world. So Daniel sets a great example to just keep going and just keep doing even when we can’t control what is causing us to be overwhelmed. God can control it, so giving up my desire to Him to control it is part of breaking free from the paralysis. Even the action of getting back to work is an act of worship and acknowledgement that I trust God’s plan. I’m starting a 21-day fast and prayer with my church this week. I did it last year too, and it seems like the first week is just miserable, dealing with the rules, self-control, and my body fighting it. As I sit here with a migraine, I feel paralyzed, definitely not thinking more about God as a fast is supposed to do but thinking more about my misery. Through this verse today, You are telling me to carry on as usual; You’ll take care of the rest. Now, I just gotta get up from this comfy warm chair where I’ve been sitting for several hours feeling sorry for myself.

Prayer

My pastor said yesterday that committing to drawing closer to God through prayer and fasting is letting my face be seen in the spiritual battle that is constantly being waged. Please Lord, help me to fight against what is trying to stop me from drawing closer to You. Help me break free from this paralysis of my body and get to the point of deeper connection with You.

The Discover One Thing main website follows a reading plan that goes through the entire Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on January 19, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’ve had terrifying dreams that I couldn’t stop thinking about for days, but none like Daniel’s! And to know they were from God and interpreted by an angel of God? Terrifying. It’s comforting to know that even Daniel had to take a break and get his thoughts together before returning to life.

    Like

Leave a Response

