2 Peter 3:11-18 – October 18

The Bible is basically a compilation of love letters from our Father in heaven, His loving words breathed onto each page. Over the next several months, as we study the letters of the Bible, Galatians through Jude, I pray that You will experience His eternal love in new ways and that it will transform you. These letters were written by Christian leaders, most of them by Paul, to establish and grow the Christian Church. For us, they are filled with love and gold nuggets on living a Christian life. Join along in our study by reading today’s scripture, journaling on it using SOAP, then sharing how God spoke to you today. Below is the NIV version of today’s reading, then below that is a SOAP from one of our study leaders. The Comments section on our website is an open forum for sharing, requesting prayer, and asking questions.

2 Peter 3:11-18 – The Day of the Lord

11 Since everything will be destroyed in this way, what kind of people ought you to be? You ought to live holy and godly lives 12 as you look forward to the day of God and speed its coming. That day will bring about the destruction of the heavens by fire, and the elements will melt in the heat. 13 But in keeping with his promise we are looking forward to a new heaven and a new earth, where righteousness dwells.
14 So then, dear friends, since you are looking forward to this, make every effort to be found spotless, blameless and at peace with him. 15 Bear in mind that our Lord’s patience means salvation, just as our dear brother Paul also wrote you with the wisdom that God gave him. 16 He writes the same way in all his letters, speaking in them of these matters. His letters contain some things that are hard to understand, which ignorant and unstable people distort, as they do the other Scriptures, to their own destruction.
17 Therefore, dear friends, since you have been forewarned, be on your guard so that you may not be carried away by the error of the lawless and fall from your secure position. 18 But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To him be glory both now and forever! Amen.

Eagerly Waiting | Dyea Rowland

Scripture

2 Peter 3:14

Observation

Peter is urging his dear friend(s) to live without rift and sin. Peter of all people, knows of this first-hand. He goes onto state that Jesus is coming and that living a pure life and in relation with Jesus is pleasing to God.

Application

With all of the warnings of false teachers and rift in this world, living a pure life and in good relation to You isn’t always easy. My emotions lately have been a perfect example of this…as I’m letting them get the best of me. I am eagerly waiting for You ,and my patience isn’t as honed as Yours. I don’t want any of my sins to spoil the good thing, Your coming! I don’t want my out of control emotions to stain me in any way; I need You to help me keep them in check.

Prayer

Father, what a fun month…I love the fall; moreover, I love You. You know how eagerly I wait for Your return – – I want that peace; I want to be found without spot and blameless in Your eyes. Thank You for loving me, all of me…Amen.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on October 18, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Response

