2 Peter 1:12-21 – October 13

The Bible is basically a compilation of love letters from our Father in heaven, His loving words breathed onto each page. Over the next several months, as we study the letters of the Bible, Galatians through Jude, I pray that You will experience His eternal love in new ways and that it will transform you. These letters were written by Christian leaders, most of them by Paul, to establish and grow the Christian Church. For us, they are filled with love and gold nuggets on living a Christian life. Join along in our study by reading today’s scripture, journaling on it using SOAP, then sharing how God spoke to you today. Below is the NIV version of today’s reading, then below that is a SOAP from one of our study leaders. The Comments section on our website is an open forum for sharing, requesting prayer, and asking questions.

2 Peter 1:12-21 – Prophecy of Scripture

12 So I will always remind you of these things, even though you know them and are firmly established in the truth you now have. 13 I think it is right to refresh your memory as long as I live in the tent of this body, 14 because I know that I will soon put it aside, as our Lord Jesus Christ has made clear to me. 15 And I will make every effort to see that after my departure you will always be able to remember these things.
16 For we did not follow cleverly devised stories when we told you about the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ in power, but we were eyewitnesses of his majesty. 17 He received honor and glory from God the Father when the voice came to him from the Majestic Glory, saying, “This is my Son, whom I love; with him I am well pleased.” 18 We ourselves heard this voice that came from heaven when we were with him on the sacred mountain.
19 We also have the prophetic message as something completely reliable, and you will do well to pay attention to it, as to a light shining in a dark place, until the day dawns and the morning star rises in your hearts. 20 Above all, you must understand that no prophecy of Scripture came about by the prophet’s own interpretation of things. 21 For prophecy never had its origin in the human will, but prophets, though human, spoke from God as they were carried along by the Holy Spirit.

In a Dark Place | Becky Newman

Scripture

2 Peter 1:19

Observation

Peter is saying that we have certain truths to hold onto in our faith: (1) Jesus (vs. 16-18) and (2) scriptures, or what we know as the Bible (vs. 19-21). Particularly, from verse 19, we can use the Bible and its words breathed by God as a light in this dark world. The last part of verse 19 alludes to the return of Jesus, when we will no longer have to be in this dark world. Jesus refers to Himself as the Morning Star in Revelation 22:16.

Application

The last several days I’ve been feeling like I’m sinking in quick-sand darkness. My attitude has been poor, I’ve crazy-mom screamed at my kids, and I’ve felt like doing nothing, along with my monthly hormonal surge. You gave me this verse today to show me the Way out of the darkness. Your Word pulls me out of my pit I dug for myself and places me back in right relationship with You.

Prayer

Thank You for loving me no matter what. And thank You for Your Word that lights my darkness. Your Word is a lamp to my feet!

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on October 13, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Response

