Hebrews 10:1-18 – September 14

The Bible is basically a compilation of love letters from our Father in heaven, His loving words breathed onto each page. Over the next several months, as we study the letters of the Bible, Galatians through Jude, I pray that You will experience His eternal love in new ways and that it will transform you. These letters were written by Christian leaders, most of them by Paul, to establish and grow the Christian Church. For us, they are filled with love and gold nuggets on living a Christian life. Join along in our study by reading today’s scripture, journaling on it using SOAP, then sharing how God spoke to you today. Below is the NIV version of today’s reading, then below that is a SOAP from one of our study leaders. The Comments section on our website is an open forum for sharing, requesting prayer, and asking questions.

Hebrews 10:1-18 – Christ’s Sacrifice Once for All

The law is only a shadow of the good things that are coming—not the realities themselves. For this reason it can never, by the same sacrifices repeated endlessly year after year, make perfect those who draw near to worship. Otherwise, would they not have stopped being offered? For the worshipers would have been cleansed once for all, and would no longer have felt guilty for their sins. But those sacrifices are an annual reminder of sins. It is impossible for the blood of bulls and goats to take away sins.
Therefore, when Christ came into the world, he said:
“Sacrifice and offering you did not desire,
    but a body you prepared for me;
with burnt offerings and sin offerings
    you were not pleased.
Then I said, ‘Here I am—it is written about me in the scroll—
    I have come to do your will, my God.’”
First he said, “Sacrifices and offerings, burnt offerings and sin offerings you did not desire, nor were you pleased with them”—though they were offered in accordance with the law. Then he said, “Here I am, I have come to do your will.” He sets aside the first to establish the second. 10 And by that will, we have been made holy through the sacrifice of the body of Jesus Christ once for all.
11 Day after day every priest stands and performs his religious duties; again and again he offers the same sacrifices, which can never take away sins. 12 But when this priest had offered for all time one sacrifice for sins, he sat down at the right hand of God, 13 and since that time he waits for his enemies to be made his footstool. 14 For by one sacrifice he has made perfect forever those who are being made holy.
15 The Holy Spirit also testifies to us about this. First he says:
16 “This is the covenant I will make with them
    after that time, says the Lord.
I will put my laws in their hearts,
    and I will write them on their minds.”
17 Then he adds:
“Their sins and lawless acts
    I will remember no more.”
18 And where these have been forgiven, sacrifice for sin is no longer necessary.

Spinning in Guilt   | Jess Howell

Scripture

Hebrews 10:11

Observation

Simply stated, the Jewish priests were spinning their wheels. And for what? The  impression that their sins were forgiven… for now. Their rules and rituals could never cleanse their hearts. The guilt of their sins would return again the next time they made their sacrifices.

Application

I suppose it’s unfair to think this verse reminds me of my days as a Catholic. I despised confession and never ever felt good afterwards. Could this be how the Jewish people felt too? Guilty still? I know there have been many times when I have asked God to forgive me for the same sin over and over again. And over and over again, I feel guilty for the same sin. In our homeschool work, we are studying character and recently discussed repentance. It’s not easy to describe this to young kids! In the end, I was able to explain that repentance isn’t just confessing your sin with genuine remorse, but you then have to turn your actions in a different direction in order to feel clean and whole again. It’s not easy to do that without the Holy Spirit, something the Jewish people couldn’t accept.

Prayer

God, I love how You intertwined what I’m trying to teach my kids with the message today. The way You orchestrate our lessons every day confirms my decision to homeschool. Help me to better illustrate repentance and draw closer to You each day. Amen.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on September 14, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Response

