2 Timothy 4:6-22 – August 26

The Bible is basically a compilation of love letters from our Father in heaven, His loving words breathed onto each page. Over the next several months, as we study the letters of the Bible, Galatians through Jude, I pray that You will experience His eternal love in new ways and that it will transform you. These letters were written by Christian leaders, most of them by Paul, to establish and grow the Christian Church. For us, they are filled with love and gold nuggets on living a Christian life. Join along in our study by reading today’s scripture, journaling on it using SOAP, then sharing how God spoke to you today. Below is the NIV version of today’s reading, then below that is a SOAP from one of our study leaders. The Comments section on our website is an open forum for sharing, requesting prayer, and asking questions.

2 Timothy 4:6-22

A Final Charge to Timothy

For I am already being poured out like a drink offering, and the time for my departure is near. I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day—and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing.

Personal Remarks

Do your best to come to me quickly, 10 for Demas, because he loved this world, has deserted me and has gone to Thessalonica. Crescens has gone to Galatia, and Titus to Dalmatia. 11 Only Luke is with me. Get Mark and bring him with you, because he is helpful to me in my ministry. 12 I sent Tychicus to Ephesus. 13 When you come, bring the cloak that I left with Carpus at Troas, and my scrolls, especially the parchments.
14 Alexander the metalworker did me a great deal of harm. The Lord will repay him for what he has done. 15 You too should be on your guard against him, because he strongly opposed our message.
16 At my first defense, no one came to my support, but everyone deserted me. May it not be held against them. 17 But the Lord stood at my side and gave me strength, so that through me the message might be fully proclaimed and all the Gentiles might hear it. And I was delivered from the lion’s mouth. 18 The Lord will rescue me from every evil attack and will bring me safely to his heavenly kingdom. To him be glory for ever and ever. Amen.

Final Greetings

19 Greet Priscilla and Aquila and the household of Onesiphorus. 20 Erastus stayed in Corinth, and I left Trophimus sick in Miletus. 21 Do your best to get here before winter. Eubulus greets you, and so do Pudens, Linus, Claudia and all the brothers and sisters.
22 The Lord be with your spirit. Grace be with you all.

Oh Glorious Day  | Dyea Rowland

Scripture

2 Timothy 4:18

Observation

These were Paul’s words to Timothy. Paul knew he was going to die and not be released from prison. He would go in front of his True and ultimate judge, but he knew that judge would rescue him and give him that new life he had been running the race for.

Application

On that glorious day when the race is finally over, I know I too will be rescued and receive a new life. I feel that time is close, so I endure the race and long to glorify You.

Prayer

Father, I want to shine bright for You and all that You have done. You have protected me from the judges of this world, and yet I long to stand before You in completion. May Your name forever be glorified…Amen.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on August 26, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you God, for this reminder today in verse 17 – “… the Lord stood at my side and gave me strength, so that through me the message might be fully proclaimed…” it’s only been in the last 4 years that I have stepped out in faith to do a task I didn’t think I had the strength (or knowledge, willpower, guts, etc) to do. But you have shown me time and again that you will give me strength!! As I move into new territories, remind me that even my fears can be overcome if I step out in faith.

    Like

  2. I journaled on the same verse this morning, Jess, and noted that Paul was careful not to leave it at just God gave me strength. God gave him strength for a purpose–so that the Good News would be proclaimed. If I stay focused on my mission for God, He’ll give me strength too. I’ve also seen that play out over and over, every time I step out of my comfort zone for God’s glory–win!

    Like

Leave a Response

