2 Timothy 3:10-4:5 – August 25

The Bible is basically a compilation of love letters from our Father in heaven, His loving words breathed onto each page. Over the next several months, as we study the letters of the Bible, Galatians through Jude, I pray that You will experience His eternal love in new ways and that it will transform you. These letters were written by Christian leaders, most of them by Paul, to establish and grow the Christian Church. For us, they are filled with love and gold nuggets on living a Christian life. Join along in our study by reading today’s scripture, journaling on it using SOAP, then sharing how God spoke to you today. Below is the NIV version of today’s reading, then below that is a SOAP from one of our study leaders. The Comments section on our website is an open forum for sharing, requesting prayer, and asking questions.

2 Timothy 3:10-4:5 – A Final Charge to Timothy

10 You, however, know all about my teaching, my way of life, my purpose, faith, patience, love, endurance, 11 persecutions, sufferings—what kinds of things happened to me in Antioch, Iconium and Lystra, the persecutions I endured. Yet the Lord rescued me from all of them. 12 In fact, everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted, 13 while evildoers and impostors will go from bad to worse, deceiving and being deceived. 14 But as for you, continue in what you have learned and have become convinced of, because you know those from whom you learned it, 15 and how from infancy you have known the Holy Scriptures, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus. 16 All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, 17 so that the servant of God[a] may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.
In the presence of God and of Christ Jesus, who will judge the living and the dead, and in view of his appearing and his kingdom, I give you this charge: Preach the word; be prepared in season and out of season; correct, rebuke and encourage—with great patience and careful instruction. For the time will come when people will not put up with sound doctrine. Instead, to suit their own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear. They will turn their ears away from the truth and turn aside to myths. But you, keep your head in all situations, endure hardship, do the work of an evangelist, discharge all the duties of your ministry.

Keep On Keeping On  | Becky Newman

Scripture

2 Timothy 4:5

Observation

This is Paul’s final charge to Timothy. So encouraging to keep on keeping on in the mission! Right before this, Paul says the world will be going the opposite way, making up their own “truths” to please themselves, turning away from the Truth in God. But we who are His (the Lord knows those who are His — 2 Timothy 2:19) must not give up in our ministries. We must still teach and speak the Truth.

Application

I feel Paul mentoring me specifically, talking right to me through this verse — keep your head in all situations, Becky. Endure hardship, Becky. Keep pointing everyone to Jesus, Becky. Keep up the good work in your ministry, Becky. I am encouraged through the power of the Spirit who breathes these words over me this morning. I will keep on keeping on, for You.

Prayer

Lord, I see Your hand working on me over the past couple years since I started journaling, on my anger, self-control, and bitterness, all so that I could be better equipped to “keep my head” now. Help me keep my head and focus on Your Truth. Help me to endure hardship under the strength and protection of Your wing. Thank You for the affirmation in my ministry duties. Always help me to do Your will in serving You in ministry. I continue to pray for my son, that He would seek Your Truth and desire to be Yours.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on August 25, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I loved how verses 14 and 15 speak to learning the scriptures at infancy. It’s a call to kids ministry and the importance of teaching kids and parents at the earliest age possible. I didn’t have that opportunity as a child (at least not in a format that was easily understood for a child) and often feel behind the ball, but that has pushed me further into the the desire to get kids at church better equipped than I was.

    Like

Leave a Response

