2 Timothy 1:1-14 – August 20-21

The Bible is basically a compilation of love letters from our Father in heaven, His loving words breathed onto each page. Over the next several months, as we study the letters of the Bible, Galatians through Jude, I pray that You will experience His eternal love in new ways and that it will transform you. These letters were written by Christian leaders, most of them by Paul, to establish and grow the Christian Church. For us, they are filled with love and gold nuggets on living a Christian life. Join along in our study by reading today’s scripture, journaling on it using SOAP, then sharing how God spoke to you today. Below is the NIV version of today’s reading, then below that is a SOAP from one of our study leaders. The Comments section on our website is an open forum for sharing, requesting prayer, and asking questions.

2 Timothy 1:1-14

Paul, an apostle of Christ Jesus by the will of God, in keeping with the promise of life that is in Christ Jesus, To Timothy, my dear son: Grace, mercy and peace from God the Father and Christ Jesus our Lord.

Thanksgiving

I thank God, whom I serve, as my ancestors did, with a clear conscience, as night and day I constantly remember you in my prayers. Recalling your tears, I long to see you, so that I may be filled with joy. I am reminded of your sincere faith, which first lived in your grandmother Lois and in your mother Eunice and, I am persuaded, now lives in you also.

Appeal for Loyalty to Paul and the Gospel

For this reason I remind you to fan into flame the gift of God, which is in you through the laying on of my hands. For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline. So do not be ashamed of the testimony about our Lord or of me his prisoner. Rather, join with me in suffering for the gospel, by the power of God. He has saved us and called us to a holy life—not because of anything we have done but because of his own purpose and grace. This grace was given us in Christ Jesus before the beginning of time, 10 but it has now been revealed through the appearing of our Savior, Christ Jesus, who has destroyed death and has brought life and immortality to light through the gospel. 11 And of this gospel I was appointed a herald and an apostle and a teacher. 12 That is why I am suffering as I am. Yet this is no cause for shame, because I know whom I have believed, and am convinced that he is able to guard what I have entrusted to him until that day.
13 What you heard from me, keep as the pattern of sound teaching, with faith and love in Christ Jesus. 14 Guard the good deposit that was entrusted to you—guard it with the help of the Holy Spirit who lives in us.

Nurturing Women in Timothy’s Life  | Rebecca Hoyt

Scripture

2 Timothy 1:5

Observation

2 Timothy is sometimes called Paul’s last will and testament since he wrote it in full acceptance of his probable impending death. The letter gives women a glimpse into the heart and mind of a man who made it his goal to bring glory to God and who at the end of life could say that he had fulfilled his ministry. That should be the goal of every believer, and this letter offers insight into how to run the race of life with endurance, how to keep the faith in the midst of difficulties, and how to fulfill your ministry (your life’s purpose) with a clear conscience before God.

Application

When I read verse 5, these two names stuck out to me – Lois and Eunice, two names we have today (I have an aunt Lois); it made what I read today so real to me, real women who taught Timothy the Scriptures when he was a young child. My Bible notes Timothy’s faith had been nurtured in a faith-filled home environment through his mother Eunice and grandmother Lois. Although his father was a Gentile, his mother was Jewish.  “From childhood”, he had been taught the Old Testament Scriptures, which shaped his thought patterns and lifestyle.

Prayer

Father, thank You for this summer and a time for the kids to relax some. I pray for all  the teachers, kids, and parents as most head back to school this week. Please be with all of them, guide them, and protect them. Help us to overcome difficulties while keeping faith.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on August 20, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Response

