Colossians 1:15-29 – July 27

The Bible is basically a compilation of love letters from our Father in heaven, His loving words breathed onto each page. Over the next several months, as we study the letters of the Bible, Galatians through Jude, I pray that You will experience His eternal love in new ways and that it will transform you. These letters were written by Christian leaders, most of them by Paul, to establish and grow the Christian Church. For us, they are filled with love and gold nuggets on living a Christian life. Join along in our study by reading today’s scripture, journaling on it using SOAP, then sharing how God spoke to you today. Below is the NIV version of today’s reading, then below that is a SOAP from one of our study leaders. The Comments section on our website is an open forum for sharing, requesting prayer, and asking questions.

Colossians 1:15-29

The Supremacy of the Son of God

15 The Son is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation. 16 For in him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things have been created through him and for him. 17 He is before all things, and in him all things hold together. 18 And he is the head of the body, the church; he is the beginning and the firstborn from among the dead, so that in everything he might have the supremacy. 19 For God was pleased to have all his fullness dwell in him, 20 and through him to reconcile to himself all things, whether things on earth or things in heaven, by making peace through his blood, shed on the cross.
21 Once you were alienated from God and were enemies in your minds because of your evil behavior. 22 But now he has reconciled you by Christ’s physical body through death to present you holy in his sight, without blemish and free from accusation— 23 if you continue in your faith, established and firm, and do not move from the hope held out in the gospel. This is the gospel that you heard and that has been proclaimed to every creature under heaven, and of which I, Paul, have become a servant.

Paul’s Labor for the Church

24 Now I rejoice in what I am suffering for you, and I fill up in my flesh what is still lacking in regard to Christ’s afflictions, for the sake of his body, which is the church. 25 I have become its servant by the commission God gave me to present to you the word of God in its fullness— 26 the mystery that has been kept hidden for ages and generations, but is now disclosed to the Lord’s people. 27 To them God has chosen to make known among the Gentiles the glorious riches of this mystery, which is Christ in you, the hope of glory.
28 He is the one we proclaim, admonishing and teaching everyone with all wisdom, so that we may present everyone fully mature in Christ. 29 To this end I strenuously contend with all the energy Christ so powerfully works in me.

Treat Others Kindly | Guest Post

Scripture

Colossians 1:16

Observation

I have noticed that in this verse God has created everything…Even the devil, but it was all for a reason. He died on a cross for us because of the sin in the world. God didn’t create sin; the devil did, but God knew it would be created. I always wondered why He created the devil, but it was all for a reason.

Application

Knowing this, we can’t treat things with disrespect because everything is from God. God handmade everything that we know. So if our perfect God made these why would we disrespect them, say mean things about them. God also doesn’t want us to harm one another, physically, mentally, or spiritually.

Prayer

Dear Lord,

I pray that I start to treat things and people better because they are made by God. God doesn’t want other things to treat us with disrespect or harm. So like the saying “treat others how you want to be treated.” In Jesus’ name,

Amen.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on July 27, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. 17 He is before all things, and in him all things hold together.

    I don’t know why I find this verse so profound. It’s just like it says. But seriously….BEFORE all things. How often do I go before Him?! How often do I go through my routine forgetting or worse ignoring the fact that He holds all things together. I try to do it myself. No wonder I’m so tired all the time. I’m doing my job and trying to do His too!

    Lord, help me to slow down and let you go before me. Then help me to remember that you are working in ALL things. Lead me. I surrender to you.

    Like

Leave a Response

