Philippians 4:10-23 – July 25

The Bible is basically a compilation of love letters from our Father in heaven, His loving words breathed onto each page. Over the next several months, as we study the letters of the Bible, Galatians through Jude, I pray that You will experience His eternal love in new ways and that it will transform you. These letters were written by Christian leaders, most of them by Paul, to establish and grow the Christian Church. For us, they are filled with love and gold nuggets on living a Christian life. Join along in our study by reading today’s scripture, journaling on it using SOAP, then sharing how God spoke to you today. Below is the NIV version of today’s reading, then below that is a SOAP from one of our study leaders. The Comments section on our website is an open forum for sharing, requesting prayer, and asking questions.

Philippians 4:10-23

Thanks for Their Gifts

10 I rejoiced greatly in the Lord that at last you renewed your concern for me. Indeed, you were concerned, but you had no opportunity to show it. 11 I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. 12 I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13 I can do all this through him who gives me strength.
14 Yet it was good of you to share in my troubles. 15 Moreover, as you Philippians know, in the early days of your acquaintance with the gospel, when I set out from Macedonia, not one church shared with me in the matter of giving and receiving, except you only; 16 for even when I was in Thessalonica, you sent me aid more than once when I was in need. 17 Not that I desire your gifts; what I desire is that more be credited to your account. 18 I have received full payment and have more than enough. I am amply supplied, now that I have received from Epaphroditus the gifts you sent. They are a fragrant offering, an acceptable sacrifice, pleasing to God. 19 And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.
20 To our God and Father be glory for ever and ever. Amen.

Final Greetings

21 Greet all God’s people in Christ Jesus. The brothers and sisters who are with me send greetings. 22 All God’s people here send you greetings, especially those who belong to Caesar’s household.
23 The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ be with your spirit. Amen.

Being Content | Becky Newman

Scripture

Philippians 4:12b-13

Observation

How did Paul get so strong? By walking thousands of miles preaching the Good News to Jews and Gentiles, by being rejected and persecuted and thrown in jail, by relying fully on God to provide every bite of food, drink of water, and place to rest his head. Many years in a life-long marathon running to God taught him that provision and strength come only from God. God needed Paul to tell as many people as he could about Jesus, so God made sure he was provided for.

Application

I likely will never face all of the hardships Paul lived through that got him to the point of being content no matter the circumstance. Though I have his wisdom written in my Bible, can I truly take this to heart and grow contentment if I have not experienced fully the parts where I have to completely rely on God’s strength to get me through? I think most importantly for me now is that this a life-long lesson. In the midst of Paul’s valleys, I’m not sure he would have been able to say he was content. But looking back over his life, it’s probably easier to see the secret God taught him through it.

Prayer

Thank You for Paul’s wisdom that You have given us in Your Word. Help me to be content no matter the circumstance, all the way to the finish line, and to always rely on Your strength.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on July 25, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Response

