Philippians 4:1-9 – July 23-24

The Bible is basically a compilation of love letters from our Father in heaven, His loving words breathed onto each page. Over the next several months, as we study the letters of the Bible, Galatians through Jude, I pray that You will experience His eternal love in new ways and that it will transform you. These letters were written by Christian leaders, most of them by Paul, to establish and grow the Christian Church. For us, they are filled with love and gold nuggets on living a Christian life. Join along in our study by reading today’s scripture, journaling on it using SOAP, then sharing how God spoke to you today. Below is the NIV version of today’s reading, then below that is a SOAP from one of our study leaders. The Comments section on our website is an open forum for sharing, requesting prayer, and asking questions.

Philippians 4:1-9

Closing Appeal for Steadfastness and Unity

Therefore, my brothers and sisters, you whom I love and long for, my joy and crown, stand firm in the Lord in this way, dear friends!
I plead with Euodia and I plead with Syntyche to be of the same mind in the Lord. Yes, and I ask you, my true companion, help these women since they have contended at my side in the cause of the gospel, along with Clement and the rest of my co-workers, whose names are in the book of life.

Final Exhortations

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.
Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.

Binge the Word | Guest Post

Scripture

Philippians 4:8

Observation

This verse makes me think of shows and music people watch and listen to. Because if you don’t keep your hearts and minds through Jesus Christ, then you will be stuck in this world. You will be caught up in the music or shows. You will spend more of your time watching your shows than being in the Word. I’m not saying watching T.V. is bad, but they may be used as a distraction and some shows are just bad. Just like music, it’s not music; I love music, but it just depends on the music you listen to. I used to listen to very bad songs when I wasn’t as close with Christ because everyone else was doing it; I thought it was cool.

Application

Netflix, Hulu, and YouTube, these things are my weakness. I could sit and watch all of these all summer instead of being in the Word, which is what the devil wants. This is where my heart and mind come in; if I watch those shows, my heart and mind won’t be with Christ; it would be with the world. This is a great verse for me because instead of having my head in this world, I should be getting it out and taking more time to read my Bible and get with God.

Prayer

Dear Lord,

Thank You for giving me this verse and showing me music and T.V. shows aren’t getting me into Heaven; it’s only through You. I ask that You help me keep my mind and heart with You, and to keep it pure from all that Satan is trying to do with this generation. I also thank You for the opportunity to get closer to You with Discover One Thing.

In Jesus’ Name I pray, Amen.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on July 23, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. So many good verses today! But verses 6 & especially 7 are what I needed today as Summer Blast is just hours away. I have been very anxious about it having not attended last year to know how things ran. But realized just a day ago that it doesn’t matter; God put me in this role for a purpose and I have felt him alongside me in this planning. Today I have to let everything go, and let His peace overcome me. He’s got it in his hands now! Thank you God!

    Like

  2. …and Summer Blast was absolutely amazing! It’s so awesome to serve with others who are serving as if Jesus himself were one of the kids attending! I hope you experienced serving in the center of His will yesterday, Jess! I did! And it’s your leadership that set the stage for that.

    Like

Leave a Response

