Philippians 3:12-21 – July 22

The Bible is basically a compilation of love letters from our Father in heaven, His loving words breathed onto each page. Over the next several months, as we study the letters of the Bible, Galatians through Jude, I pray that You will experience His eternal love in new ways and that it will transform you. These letters were written by Christian leaders, most of them by Paul, to establish and grow the Christian Church. For us, they are filled with love and gold nuggets on living a Christian life. Join along in our study by reading today’s scripture, journaling on it using SOAP, then sharing how God spoke to you today. Below is the NIV version of today’s reading, then below that is a SOAP from one of our study leaders. The Comments section on our website is an open forum for sharing, requesting prayer, and asking questions.

Philippians 3:12-21

No Confidence in the Flesh

12 Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. 13 Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, 14 I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

Following Paul’s Example

15 All of us, then, who are mature should take such a view of things. And if on some point you think differently, that too God will make clear to you. 16 Only let us live up to what we have already attained.
17 Join together in following my example, brothers and sisters, and just as you have us as a model, keep your eyes on those who live as we do. 18 For, as I have often told you before and now tell you again even with tears, many live as enemies of the cross of Christ. 19 Their destiny is destruction, their god is their stomach, and their glory is in their shame. Their mind is set on earthly things. 20 But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ, 21 who, by the power that enables him to bring everything under his control, will transform our lowly bodies so that they will be like his glorious body.

Hitting the Mark | Dyea Rowland

Scripture

Philippians 3:14

Observation

There is an urgency in God’s call to us. The call to repentance, which is the call to salvation and to know Jesus intimately.

Application

As I press toward the mark for my prize, You have sounded the alarm that there is an urgency now more than ever to be prayerful, watchful, fasting and in Your word. There are still so many souls that have not and refuse to turn to You. My higher calling as of this moment is to be in prayer for those souls, for our churches, for our leaders, and for our world and pray. You are calling me to get quiet with You and be in Your presence.

Prayer

Father, I haven’t been hitting the mark that You have put in play for me. As a whole and as an individual, I have been lacking. I, belonging to a world, nation, and a church have not come together in prayer to repent. I have now heard Your high calling; let me come to You and attain hitting that mark that You have set for me. In Your name, Jesus…Amen.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on July 22, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. 20 But our citizenship is in heaven.

    My brain parked on this verse today. Several times yesterday I found myself pondering about heaven. Would have completely forgotten about it too, had it not been for today’s reading. My oldest daughter has been asking a lot of questions lately about the Holy Spirit and what it means. And explaining things to kids can sometimes make you rethink things yourself. Ultimately I asked my daughter if she wanted to go to heaven, and what she needs to do to get there. Prior to this week, she would have said, “You say that Prayer.” but now she emphasizes that you have to BELIEVE fully that Jesus died for you and confess your sins and be truly SORRY. Then you will have your citizenship passport to heaven. I’m overjoyed that she is seeking her own answers!

    Like

Leave a Response

