Philippians 2:19-30 – July 20

The Bible is basically a compilation of love letters from our Father in heaven, His loving words breathed onto each page. Over the next several months, as we study the letters of the Bible, Galatians through Jude, I pray that You will experience His eternal love in new ways and that it will transform you. These letters were written by Christian leaders, most of them by Paul, to establish and grow the Christian Church. For us, they are filled with love and gold nuggets on living a Christian life. Join along in our study by reading today’s scripture, journaling on it using SOAP, then sharing how God spoke to you today. Below is the NIV version of today’s reading, then below that is a SOAP from one of our study leaders. The Comments section on our website is an open forum for sharing, requesting prayer, and asking questions.

Philippians 2:19-30 – Timothy and Epaphroditus

19 I hope in the Lord Jesus to send Timothy to you soon, that I also may be cheered when I receive news about you. 20 I have no one else like him, who will show genuine concern for your welfare. 21 For everyone looks out for their own interests, not those of Jesus Christ. 22 But you know that Timothy has proved himself, because as a son with his father he has served with me in the work of the gospel. 23 I hope, therefore, to send him as soon as I see how things go with me. 24 And I am confident in the Lord that I myself will come soon.
25 But I think it is necessary to send back to you Epaphroditus, my brother, co-worker and fellow soldier, who is also your messenger, whom you sent to take care of my needs. 26 For he longs for all of you and is distressed because you heard he was ill. 27 Indeed he was ill, and almost died. But God had mercy on him, and not on him only but also on me, to spare me sorrow upon sorrow. 28 Therefore I am all the more eager to send him, so that when you see him again you may be glad and I may have less anxiety. 29 So then, welcome him in the Lord with great joy, and honor people like him, 30 because he almost died for the work of Christ. He risked his life to make up for the help you yourselves could not give me.

Mercy He Shows | Guest Post

Scripture

Philippians 2:27

Observation

This man was sick, and God showed mercy on him. This makes me think that every day if we do something wrong (as in sin), God shows mercy on us. He still loves us. I know when someone does something wrong to me it takes time for me to forgive them, but if we sin and repent, God forgives us right away. Jesus died on a cross so that we could be in heaven with Him.

Application

I can use this in my life by knowing I can forgive someone else because God has forgiven me for what I have done. I would also want to use this in my life when I sin against others, because I pray that He shows forgiveness/mercy on me. He will if I repent and I ask for mercy because He loves me. God has done an amazing thing in my life; lots of things have happened in my past, and He has given me the strength to forgive them. He also has given people in my life strength to forgive me when I have hurt them. So I thank Him every day for giving them strength.

Prayer

Dear Lord,

I pray that You can help me show mercy/forgiveness on others when they do a wrong to me. I also pray that You would show me mercy when I sin against You. Because I’m not perfect; no one is. I hope others ask You to show mercy on them when they sin. Your mercy is amazing, and we are all very lucky to receive it. Thanks for always giving me strength to forgive others when they sin against me.

In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on July 20, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Verses 29 and 30 remind me of the missionary family that came to speak at our church a few weeks ago. Their joy in what they do was so overwhelmingly evident that it sticks with me even now. I’ve seen many missionaries speak before and each time I feel guilty that I’m not doing what they’re doing or experiencing amazing transformation. Well there I go comparing again… I know I have my own mission field and my own calling, just like the missionaries do. I’m so thankful for them and their great sacrifice, even risking their lives going places I am not able to go, and I should always be praying that they would find JOY in everything they do so as to continue sharing the gospel.

    Like

Leave a Response

