Philippians 1:25-2:4 – July 18

The Bible is basically a compilation of love letters from our Father in heaven, His loving words breathed onto each page. Over the next several months, as we study the letters of the Bible, Galatians through Jude, I pray that You will experience His eternal love in new ways and that it will transform you. These letters were written by Christian leaders, most of them by Paul, to establish and grow the Christian Church. For us, they are filled with love and gold nuggets on living a Christian life. Join along in our study by reading today’s scripture, journaling on it using SOAP, then sharing how God spoke to you today. Below is the NIV version of today’s reading, then below that is a SOAP from one of our study leaders. The Comments section on our website is an open forum for sharing, requesting prayer, and asking questions.

Philippians 1:25-2:4

Paul’s Chains Advance the Gospel

25 Convinced of this, I know that I will remain, and I will continue with all of you for your progress and joy in the faith, 26 so that through my being with you again your boasting in Christ Jesus will abound on account of me.

Life Worthy of the Gospel

27 Whatever happens, conduct yourselves in a manner worthy of the gospel of Christ. Then, whether I come and see you or only hear about you in my absence, I will know that you stand firm in the one Spirit, striving together as one for the faith of the gospel 28 without being frightened in any way by those who oppose you. This is a sign to them that they will be destroyed, but that you will be saved—and that by God. 29 For it has been granted to you on behalf of Christ not only to believe in him, but also to suffer for him, 30 since you are going through the same struggle you saw I had, and now hear that I still have.

Imitating Christ’s Humility

Therefore if you have any encouragement from being united with Christ, if any comfort from his love, if any common sharing in the Spirit, if any tenderness and compassion, then make my joy complete by being like-minded, having the same love, being one in spirit and of one mind. Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others.

Choose Unity and Humility | Becky Newman

Scripture

Philippians 1:27

Observation

What does “a manner worthy of the gospel of Christ” look like? How can we ever act worthy of the gospel when sin has such a hold on the world? I think the rest of today’s reading gives insight on what it should look like. Primarily, it’s choosing unity and humility. The Good News should be the One Thing that unifies us above all others, and in order to fully accept the Good News — what Jesus has done for us — we must humble ourselves under God, not ever truly worthy of what Jesus did for us, but as close as we can get.

Application

That “whatever happens” part of this verse — Satan will cheer on whatever to happen just to cause disunity and pride to take over, like a sniper choosing to take out police officers in protest, or a terrorist choosing to run a truck through a crowd of families celebrating a holiday, or in the disguise of venting when I start spreading negativity, which breeds disunity, rather than encouragement. It’s a choice. WHATEVER HAPPENS, I must choose unity and humility. Serving You, not myself. This is probably one of the biggest things holding me back from growth, feeling like I need to vent frustrations to others but, in so doing, spreading disunity like cancer.

Prayer

Lord, help me with this! Help me to act worthy of Your sacrifice and love for me. Help me to choose unity and humility, to lay my frustrations at Your feet, surrendering them to You, so You can guide me through Your Holy Spirit on the words to say or not say.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on July 18, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Scripture
    Philippines 2:1-4

    Observation
    Words that helped me before,during,and after my surgery from these verses-encouragement,comfort from his love, tenderness and compassion.

    Application
    I am so thankful for all the nurses and doctors who took such wonderful care of me in the hospital,for my parents and sister who took care of my kids while i was in the hospital. For all the prayers, amazing meals and caring words to ask how I’m doing from my family,friends,and neighbors. So thankful for my awesome husband who was with me the whole time, brought me flowers,
    And helping with cleaning and all the other household stuff. For my kids who made me cards, help with cleaning, hugs and smiles(I even got a puppet show).
    All these people did this not out of (as v3 says) their own selfish ambition, or vain conceit. They didn’t do it for any gain. They did it because they cared. And this means so much to me.

    Prayer
    Dear Lord thank you for putting all these people in my life. Help me to remember how much helping others means and help me to find ways to help them.

    Like

Leave a Response

