Galatians 1:13-24 – June 17

The Bible is basically a compilation of love letters from our Father in heaven, His loving words breathed onto each page. Over the next several months, as we study the letters of the Bible, Galatians through Jude, I pray that You will experience His eternal love in new ways and that it will transform you. These letters were written by Christians leaders, most of them by Paul, to establish and grow the Christian Church. For us, they are filled with love and gold nuggets on living a Christian life. Join along in our study by reading today’s scripture, journaling on it using SOAP, then sharing how God spoke to you today. Below is the NIV version of today’s reading, then below that is a SOAP from one of our study leaders. The Comments section on our website is an open forum for sharing, requesting prayer, and asking questions.

Galatians 1:13-24 – Paul Called by God

13 For you have heard of my previous way of life in Judaism, how intensely I persecuted the church of God and tried to destroy it. 14 I was advancing in Judaism beyond many of my own age among my people and was extremely zealous for the traditions of my fathers. 15 But when God, who set me apart from my mother’s womb and called me by his grace, was pleased 16 to reveal his Son in me so that I might preach him among the Gentiles, my immediate response was not to consult any human being. 17 I did not go up to Jerusalem to see those who were apostles before I was, but I went into Arabia. Later I returned to Damascus.
18 Then after three years, I went up to Jerusalem to get acquainted with Cephas and stayed with him fifteen days. 19 I saw none of the other apostles—only James, the Lord’s brother. 20 I assure you before God that what I am writing you is no lie.
21 Then I went to Syria and Cilicia. 22 I was personally unknown to the churches of Judea that are in Christ. 23 They only heard the report: “The man who formerly persecuted us is now preaching the faith he once tried to destroy.” 24 And they praised God because of me.

Set Apart | Dyea Rowland

Scripture

Galatians 1:15-17

Observation

Like Paul, we all have been set apart; we are all called by His grace (sadly not everyone answers that call). Jesus reveals (and continues to if we are watching) to us Himself, and instructs us to preach. This is not a “preaching” of any other gospel than the true and infallible gospel of our Lord Jesus, which we read about yesterday.

Application

As I read and connect with You, and as You reveal things to me, my flesh wants to run to “man” and check against Your revelations. You, Jesus advise that my feelings are true – that how the world wants to “unite” in such a way, You challenge me not to conform to the way that the masses are moving. Such masses of Christian influences, Christians I revere in the utmost. In Revelations, You tell us that many will be deceived, which is to include Your elite. You are allowing me to see this very thing. An event this summer being held in Washington D.C., with infamous Christians, will be joining together with the Pope. To the eye and even heart, it seems great, but is not the joining You have set us apart for. In the hashtag that is used for this event – states Your name along with and upside down “changes” – to me this is blaspheme. You are a God of order, not chaos. As I take this to mean. You turn things that are upside-down, right side up; moreover, You are the only Messiah. You, Jesus died and are the only way to heaven. If all religions lead to You, then Your death on the cross was heinous in the utmost evil way. From yesterday’s reading and today’s, You are challenging me – to know that there is no other gospel (to use my discernment in this world); and listen and speak truth of what,You, Holy Spirit, put on my heart (not only the feelings I have after reading scripture, but to post about these bold statements).

Prayer

Father, I understand that this is a bold journal and not all will agree, but there is a peace in my heart for sharing, as I fear nothing from You. You set me apart, in all I do. I do not want to “go along with the masses” nor deceived by the false gospel that will be shared at the event. “If I am still trying to please men, I would not be a servant to You.” Let me be wise with my words, using discretion. The world wants “unity” with a hidden agenda of division. You call us to “unity” in You; in no other way and this is why You set us apart – let us not forget the Tower of Babel. I see Satan’s hand in this, and I pray for eyes to see and protection all around. You are the only One who can bring peace, let alone give it. Thank You for Your grace; let me glorify You by speaking only Your true gospel in a world full of deception, Jesus (I love you)…Amen.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on June 17, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Response

