Proverbs 9 – May 24

The Discover One Thing Online Study is doing a proverb a day for 31 days, seeking knowledge and discretion (Proverbs 1:4) and learning and guidance (Proverbs 1:5) from God. Read today’s scripture, journal on it using SOAP, then please share as we encourage one another in this one thing. Below is the NIV version of today’s reading, then below that is a SOAP from one of our study leaders. The Comments section on our website is an open forum for sharing, requesting prayer, and asking questions.

Proverbs 9 – Invitations of Wisdom and Folly

Wisdom has built her house;
    she has set up its seven pillars.
She has prepared her meat and mixed her wine;
    she has also set her table.
She has sent out her servants, and she calls
    from the highest point of the city,
    “Let all who are simple come to my house!”
To those who have no sense she says,
    “Come, eat my food
    and drink the wine I have mixed.
Leave your simple ways and you will live;
    walk in the way of insight.”
Whoever corrects a mocker invites insults;
    whoever rebukes the wicked incurs abuse.
Do not rebuke mockers or they will hate you;
    rebuke the wise and they will love you.
Instruct the wise and they will be wiser still;
    teach the righteous and they will add to their learning.
10 The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom,
    and knowledge of the Holy One is understanding.
11 For through wisdom your days will be many,
    and years will be added to your life.
12 If you are wise, your wisdom will reward you;
    if you are a mocker, you alone will suffer.
13 Folly is an unruly woman;
    she is simple and knows nothing.
14 She sits at the door of her house,
    on a seat at the highest point of the city,
15 calling out to those who pass by,
    who go straight on their way,
16     “Let all who are simple come to my house!”
To those who have no sense she says,
17     “Stolen water is sweet;
    food eaten in secret is delicious!”
18 But little do they know that the dead are there,
    that her guests are deep in the realm of the dead.

The Invitation Has Been Sent | Dyea Rowland

Scripture

Proverbs 9:5

Observation

Here, Jesus is calling people to His banquet. He has called all people of high and low of the Earth to respond, but how are we going to respond? One would be foolish to say that God doesn’t exist and that He has no goodness for us, but some do. I don’t want to be that kind of fool – just look at the reverence of God in verse 10, acknowledging Him is understanding. The RSVP to the invite seems so simple and indefinite. As one acknowledges by responding so simply and humbly, He will continue to grow our wisdom.

Application

I know what happens to the ones that do not fear Your great name, the ones who laugh in the face of death. I want to choose the invitation of wisdom, so years of eternity will be added to my life.

Prayer

Father, I have had many seasons of folly; I am just coming out of one. Mocking Your reverence, remaining undisciplined, and suffering from my own decisions. How great are You to allow me into Your presence, allowing such wisdom to be mine. You are so kind, gentle, understanding and utmost forgiving, especially in my lack of judgment. I do see things for what they are, and Your ways are better. Continue to grow me and discipline me. Thank You for inviting me to come into You; consider one and counting to be at the banquet. In Your welcoming name…Amen.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on May 24, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thank you for calling attention to the invitation, Dyea! That helped me find my One Thing today. Proverbs 9 begins with an invitation and call to action from wisdom (which is of God). The call to action is in verse 6 — Leave your simple ways. And it ends with an invitation from folly (which is not of God) and call of inaction to stumble mindlessly off the path and give in to immediate gratification.

    My immediate reaction to the word “simple” or “foolish” is that’s not me, I’m too smart for that. But, I have simple ways, especially when I think about it in the light of instant gratification. Two that come to mind right now are eating sweets and anger. In these areas, I just let myself go off the straight path. I’m not intentionally walking towards Him. This is where I need to leave my simple ways and let wisdom show me how to walk the straight path in the way of insight.

    Lord, help me to leave my simple ways, to break me of the easy patterns I have developed in both eating sweets and letting my anger go. I pray for wisdom in how to leave these ways; I pray for strength.

    Like

Leave a Response

