Proverbs 4 – May 19

The Discover One Thing Online Study is doing a proverb a day for 31 days, seeking knowledge and discretion (Proverbs 1:4) and learning and guidance (Proverbs 1:5) from God. Read today’s scripture, journal on it using SOAP, then please share as we encourage one another in this one thing. Below is the NIV version of today’s reading, then below that is a SOAP from one of our study leaders. The Comments section on our website is an open forum for sharing, requesting prayer, and asking questions.

Proverbs 4 – Get Wisdom at Any Cost

Listen, my sons, to a father’s instruction;
    pay attention and gain understanding.
I give you sound learning,
    so do not forsake my teaching.
For I too was a son to my father,
    still tender, and cherished by my mother.
Then he taught me, and he said to me,
    “Take hold of my words with all your heart;
    keep my commands, and you will live.
Get wisdom, get understanding;
    do not forget my words or turn away from them.
Do not forsake wisdom, and she will protect you;
    love her, and she will watch over you.
The beginning of wisdom is this: Get wisdom.
    Though it cost all you have, get understanding.
Cherish her, and she will exalt you;
    embrace her, and she will honor you.
She will give you a garland to grace your head
    and present you with a glorious crown.”
10 Listen, my son, accept what I say,
    and the years of your life will be many.
11 I instruct you in the way of wisdom
    and lead you along straight paths.
12 When you walk, your steps will not be hampered;
    when you run, you will not stumble.
13 Hold on to instruction, do not let it go;
    guard it well, for it is your life.
14 Do not set foot on the path of the wicked
    or walk in the way of evildoers.
15 Avoid it, do not travel on it;
    turn from it and go on your way.
16 For they cannot rest until they do evil;
    they are robbed of sleep till they make someone stumble.
17 They eat the bread of wickedness
    and drink the wine of violence.
18 The path of the righteous is like the morning sun,
    shining ever brighter till the full light of day.
19 But the way of the wicked is like deep darkness;
    they do not know what makes them stumble.
20 My son, pay attention to what I say;
    turn your ear to my words.
21 Do not let them out of your sight,
    keep them within your heart;
22 for they are life to those who find them
    and health to one’s whole body.
23 Above all else, guard your heart,
    for everything you do flows from it.
24 Keep your mouth free of perversity;
    keep corrupt talk far from your lips.
25 Let your eyes look straight ahead;
    fix your gaze directly before you.
26 Give careful thought to the paths for your feet
    and be steadfast in all your ways.
27 Do not turn to the right or the left;
    keep your foot from evil.

Guard My Heart | Becky Newman

Scripture

Proverbs 4:23

Observation

There’s important work going on in my heart. That’s where the Holy Spirit is working away constructing the fruits of the Spirit within me, and it’s also where Satan wants to grab a foothold and destroy it all. Verses 24-27 after this warn just how Satan will try — through what I speak, through what I look at, and through what I do. Vicious cycle, but it starts in the heart.

Application

That’s why I’m sitting here at Your feet, because it starts in my heart, and I need You there building the fortress strong so that nothing but love can flow out. This command to guard my heart means to make sure I’m making the choice to focus on You, to pray continually to You, to sit at Your feet, and to go where You want me to go.

Prayer

God, help me to make the choice to guard my heart and let Your Spirit keep working. Protect me from evil and from Satan trying to gain a foothold. May love overflow from my heart, straight from You.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on May 19, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Proverbs 4:23
    Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.

    This verse reminds me of a fascinating discussion I had in life group several months ago where I learned that there have been several cases where heart transplant patients take on characteristics of their donors. If you Google it you’ll be amazed at what you find! One that caught my eye was a strong gay McDonald’s loving woman who after her transplant, suddenly HATED meat and now longed to be with men. Her donor was a vegetarian heterosexual. Was it coincidence or truly a change in heart?

    God is in the business of changing hearts. He has changed mine many times in very drastic ways, and all for good. He changed my heart for my husband (we did Not like each other when we first met… At all). He changed my heart to stay at home and Homeschool my kids. And he change my heart today – away from negativity and self-reliance. For Out of my tongue flows my heart so I have to continue to be mindful of the words I use as they reflect what’s in my heart…literally!

    God, thank you for being the true heart doctor. You know the deepest parts of me, and you know they still need work. Continue to bring them to light so we can work through them together. Guard my heart so that only your truth and light come through. Amen

    Like

  2. Wow, I’d never heard that before about heart transplants! That’s so cool! God’s creation is absolutely amazing! My hubby’s major “heart” change was through a brain injury. Head trauma disconnects the pathways your brain builds to associate experiences and memories, and so recovery involves these pathways re-establishing themselves. We started dating during his recovery, so he had no choice but to establish pathways of commitment for me 🙂 I praise God for his divine detour, even though it was through a near-death experience and trauma. He was making so many choices away from God, headed down a dark destructive sinful path, so God had to alter his brain and put him back on the straight path to heaven, and re-mold him into a man who guards his heart.

    Like

Leave a Response

