Proverbs 1 – May 16

The Discover One Thing Online Study is doing a proverb a day for 31 days, seeking knowledge and discretion (Proverbs 1:4) and learning and guidance (Proverbs 1:5) from God. Read today’s scripture, journal on it using SOAP, then please share as we encourage one another in this one thing. Below is the NIV version of today’s reading, then below that is a SOAP from one of our study leaders. The Comments section on our website is an open forum for sharing, requesting prayer, and asking questions.

Proverbs 1

Purpose and Theme

The proverbs of Solomon son of David, king of Israel:
for gaining wisdom and instruction;
    for understanding words of insight;
for receiving instruction in prudent behavior,
    doing what is right and just and fair;
for giving prudence to those who are simple,
    knowledge and discretion to the young—
let the wise listen and add to their learning,
    and let the discerning get guidance—
for understanding proverbs and parables,
    the sayings and riddles of the wise.
The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge,
    but fools despise wisdom and instruction.

Prologue: Exhortations to Embrace Wisdom – Warning Against the Invitation of Sinful Men

Listen, my son, to your father’s instruction
    and do not forsake your mother’s teaching.
They are a garland to grace your head
    and a chain to adorn your neck.
10 My son, if sinful men entice you,
    do not give in to them.
11 If they say, “Come along with us;
    let’s lie in wait for innocent blood,
    let’s ambush some harmless soul;
12 let’s swallow them alive, like the grave,
    and whole, like those who go down to the pit;
13 we will get all sorts of valuable things
    and fill our houses with plunder;
14 cast lots with us;
    we will all share the loot”—
15 my son, do not go along with them,
    do not set foot on their paths;
16 for their feet rush into evil,
    they are swift to shed blood.
17 How useless to spread a net
    where every bird can see it!
18 These men lie in wait for their own blood;
    they ambush only themselves!
19 Such are the paths of all who go after ill-gotten gain;
    it takes away the life of those who get it.

Wisdom’s Rebuke

20 Out in the open wisdom calls aloud,
    she raises her voice in the public square;
21 on top of the wall she cries out,
    at the city gate she makes her speech:
22 “How long will you who are simple love your simple ways?
    How long will mockers delight in mockery
    and fools hate knowledge?
23 Repent at my rebuke!
    Then I will pour out my thoughts to you,
    I will make known to you my teachings.
24 But since you refuse to listen when I call
    and no one pays attention when I stretch out my hand,
25 since you disregard all my advice
    and do not accept my rebuke,
26 I in turn will laugh when disaster strikes you;
    I will mock when calamity overtakes you—
27 when calamity overtakes you like a storm,
    when disaster sweeps over you like a whirlwind,
    when distress and trouble overwhelm you.
28 “Then they will call to me but I will not answer;
    they will look for me but will not find me,
29 since they hated knowledge
    and did not choose to fear the Lord.
30 Since they would not accept my advice
    and spurned my rebuke,
31 they will eat the fruit of their ways
    and be filled with the fruit of their schemes.
32 For the waywardness of the simple will kill them,
    and the complacency of fools will destroy them;
33 but whoever listens to me will live in safety
    and be at ease, without fear of harm.”

First God Then Knowledge | Becky Newman

Scripture

Proverbs 1:7

Observation

Solomon is known as the wisest person in the Bible, and we have a whole book of his wisdom to learn from this mentor. But he is quick to point out in the beginning of this book that all of his wisdom comes from God. Knowledge cannot begin unless we recognize God’s Lordship over us — that’s the “fear” of the Lord, and it’s a healthy fear, not a scared-in-a-dark-alley fear. Verses 2-4 state the purposes of Proverbs for the young, and verses 5-6 say the older generations can continue to learn from Proverbs.

Application

Solomon must have had a teenage son when he wrote this, because I’m so feeling his exhortations in this chapter. Before choosing our Discover One Thing online studies, I spend weeks in prayer and seeking God’s guidance and then listen for repeats and duplicity in the many ways He talks to me. For Proverbs, this was Jess suggesting it during our moms group and then my friend Lisa offering me some advice. After I shared my parenting struggles, Lisa shared that her family is continually reading a Proverb a day; she’s reading it with her kids over and over to write it on their hearts and pray something sticks through their teen years. The bottom line for all readers here in verse 7, young and old alike, is that God must be sovereign in my life in order for Proverbs to fulfill its purpose, which is guidance and learning for me.

Prayer

You are sovereign in my life! I pray that Solomon’s and Your purpose is fulfilled through this study, both for me and for the others joining us, and for our families. Lord, show me how I can work the reading of Proverbs into my family.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on May 16, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I had to reread Proverbs 1 at least 5 times. Partly because of two giggly girls distracting me, partly because I was trying to ignore a growling stomach and mostly because I was being closed-minded.

    I went into my study time this morning begrudgingly. I had no excuse though – no commitments or to do items. And here I was trying to mark it off on my to do list. I skimmed the passage but didn’t get anything. Thankfully I didnt put down my Bible, and I tried again. And again. And again. Then reading my Bible notes to try and wake up my brain, it says “Don’t be a know-it-all”…only,God knows it all.” That. That woke me up. I tried to give myself the excuse that today’s reading wasn’t going to teach me anything new. Boy, did I have that wrong.

    My Bible highlights that in this age of information, knowledge is easy to come by (where would we be without Google?), but true wisdom is scarce. I think now when my kids tell me that I “know a lot of stuff”, I can use that as a lesson point for them (and myself!) about true wisdom and it’s foundation with God.

    Like

Leave a Response

