Growing Contentment and Generosity – Day 16, May 3

This is a 4-week topical study on growing contentment and generosity in our hearts (click on the Reading Plan tab on the website for a list of the scriptures by day).  The word “content” means not needing more, and the word “generous” means open-handed giving. As we look at what the Bible has to say about wealth and riches, it is my prayer that we would open our hands’ grip just a little bit more on the stuff of this world and grow generosity in its place. During this study, I hope you will share your stories of how God provides in our comments section on the website, as a testimony and encouragement to our readers to take these baby steps in the direction of God and just see what happens.

Read today’s scripture, journal on it using SOAP, then please share as we encourage one another in this one thing. Below is the NIV version of today’s reading, then below that is a SOAP from one of our study leaders. The Comments section on our website is an open forum for sharing, requesting prayer, and asking questions.

Matthew 6:25-34 – Do Not Worry

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?
28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? 31 So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Underestimated  | Dyea Rowland

Scripture

Matthew 6:31-32

Observation

How often do we worry or ask these questions of Him? As if He won’t provide. A God who clothes each flower and the grass of a field. The life of a flower is such a short time, but what beauty. A God who takes care of His children, how much more beauty we would be clothed in, if we only trusted.

Application

God, I forget sometimes what You are like, and I forget that You know what I need. I chase after the things that I think I need or feel I need to get for myself. Let my worries disappear and let me be content in You alone.

Prayer

Father, I underestimate how great You are. You are so giving to take all of my worries and make them disappear. I am able to trust You and I do. In Your beautiful and generous name…Amen.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on May 3, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. God has always spoken to me through His creation, and He reminds me of these verses about the birds and flowers often. I used to place the rest of His creation above His human creation, before I matured in my understanding of grace and being made in His image. Today is my errand day, and I switched things up a bit and did my prayer run first before grocery shopping. Wow, what a difference that made! So I journaled about verse 33, seeking Him first. As I ran, He spoke to me a little more about the birds and the flowers. They don’t have a neighborhood birdie Target or Wal-Mart to stockpile food and clothes from, but they’re doing just fine, seemingly carefree as they sing. God gave them the instincts to seek and find just what they need. God gives me the choice to seek and find just what I need. My choice needs to be to seek Him first, and he’ll help me order the rest according to His will. After my run, He gave me just enough time to go to a smaller grocery store and buy just what we need for this week, no stockpiling or can’t-pass-this-up bargains or Target dollar aisle purchases; it was about 25% of what I normally spend on a Tuesday morning. This was an answered prayer for me! There are so many choices out there; He showed me the most important choice.

    Like

Leave a Response

