Growing Contentment and Generosity – Day 11, April 28

This is a 4-week topical study on growing contentment and generosity in our hearts (click on the Reading Plan tab on the website for a list of the scriptures by day).  The word “content” means not needing more, and the word “generous” means open-handed giving. As we look at what the Bible has to say about wealth and riches, it is my prayer that we would open our hands’ grip just a little bit more on the stuff of this world and grow generosity in its place. During this study, I hope you will share your stories of how God provides in our comments section on the website, as a testimony and encouragement to our readers to take these baby steps in the direction of God and just see what happens.

Read today’s scripture, journal on it using SOAP, then please share as we encourage one another in this one thing. Below is the NIV version of today’s reading, then below that is a SOAP from one of our study leaders. The Comments section on our website is an open forum for sharing, requesting prayer, and asking questions.

1 Chronicles 29:10-20 – David’s Prayer

10 David praised the Lord in the presence of the whole assembly, saying,
“Praise be to you, Lord,
    the God of our father Israel,
    from everlasting to everlasting.
11 Yours, Lord, is the greatness and the power
    and the glory and the majesty and the splendor,
    for everything in heaven and earth is yours.
Yours, Lord, is the kingdom;
    you are exalted as head over all.
12 Wealth and honor come from you;
    you are the ruler of all things.
In your hands are strength and power
    to exalt and give strength to all.
13 Now, our God, we give you thanks,
    and praise your glorious name.
14 “But who am I, and who are my people, that we should be able to give as generously as this? Everything comes from you, and we have given you only what comes from your hand. 15 We are foreigners and strangers in your sight, as were all our ancestors. Our days on earth are like a shadow, without hope. 16 Lord our God, all this abundance that we have provided for building you a temple for your Holy Name comes from your hand, and all of it belongs to you. 17 I know, my God, that you test the heart and are pleased with integrity. All these things I have given willingly and with honest intent. And now I have seen with joy how willingly your people who are here have given to you. 18 Lord, the God of our fathers Abraham, Isaac and Israel, keep these desires and thoughts in the hearts of your people forever, and keep their hearts loyal to you. 19 And give my son Solomon the wholehearted devotion to keep your commands, statutes and decrees and to do everything to build the palatial structure for which I have provided.”
20 Then David said to the whole assembly, “Praise the Lord your God.” So they all praised the Lord, the God of their fathers; they bowed down, prostrating themselves before the Lord and the king.

Jehovah Jireh-From Whom All Blessings Flow  | Becky Newman

Scripture

1 Chronicles 29:14

Observation

David just prayed a prayer of Thanksgiving in front of his people for all that they had given for the construction of the temple. David knew this was going to be his son Solomon’s temple to build, and he even prays for him and his heart to stick with it (vs. 19). David acknowledges his and his people’s correct place under God and gives thanks that God has given them the ability to be generous.

Application

God is so good! And here’s just one reason why…I lead a team of volunteers who maintain edible landscaping for a local food pantry. After submitting a grant application requesting 50% of this year’s funding, I hadn’t heard anything for awhile, so I thought maybe God was saying my family needed to fund the project this year, and I started buying materials with that in mind. Then, He rained down blessings from the sky as I received word that the grant application was successful but not just for 50%, nope, because God wanted His glory to shine more than what I asked for! We receved 100% funding for the year! I was ready to give from our pockets, and I don’t feel released from that, so I can’t wait to see what His plans are for that allocation. And I need to keep listening so He can show me where. I also love the legacy of praise and prayer that David is handing to his son Solomon–that’s something else I can take from today’s reading. My kids need to know these testimonies of God my Provider–Jehovah Jireh–and I need to teach them contentment and generosity through my actions and pray for them to be generous.

Prayer

Thank You, Lord, from Whom all blessings flow! You are so good to me! It is all Yours, and I am just a steward. Help me teach and show my children what contentment and generosity look like and our rightful place below You and all that is Yours.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on April 28, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. “Everything comes from You, and we have given You only what comes from Your hand.” (vs. 14) This is truth, but for some reason it’s so hard to grow up and change my perspective. Like my 3-yr old taking a toy out of another kid’s hand and yelling, “MINE!” We learn it so early and have trouble letting it go. Slowly now, practice, open hand. Grow me up, Lord! Check out this Proverbs 31 Ministry devotion for more – http://proverbs31.org/devotions/devo/its-hard-to-let-go/

    Like

Leave a Response

