Growing Contentment and Generosity – Day 2, April 19

This is a 4-week topical study on growing contentment and generosity in our hearts (click on the Reading Plan tab on the website for a list of the scriptures by day).  The word “content” means not needing more, and the word “generous” means open-handed giving. As we look at what the Bible has to say about wealth and riches, it is my prayer that we would open our hands’ grip just a little bit more on the stuff of this world and grow generosity in its place. During this study, I hope you will share your stories of how God provides in our comments section on the website, as a testimony and encouragement to our readers to take these baby steps in the direction of God and just see what happens.

Read today’s scripture, journal on it using SOAP, then please share as we encourage one another in this one thing. Below is the NIV version of today’s reading, then below that is a SOAP from one of our study leaders. The Comments section on our website is an open forum for sharing, requesting prayer, and asking questions.

James 5:1-6 – Warning to Rich Oppressors

Now listen, you rich people, weep and wail because of the misery that is coming on you. Your wealth has rotted, and moths have eaten your clothes. Your gold and silver are corroded. Their corrosion will testify against you and eat your flesh like fire. You have hoarded wealth in the last days. Look! The wages you failed to pay the workers who mowed your fields are crying out against you. The cries of the harvesters have reached the ears of the Lord Almighty. You have lived on earth in luxury and self-indulgence. You have fattened yourselves in the day of slaughter. You have condemned and murdered the innocent one, who was not opposing you.

The Fat Life I Live | Dyea Rowland

Scripture

James 5:1, 5

Observation

Yesterday’s reading was a heart opener for me, for my heart had convinced me that I was rich enough by saying the easy words that “I am rich, because I have Him”. Jesus quickly exposed me to what I had been blinded to. I had been blind to the fact that I had turned to the ways of the world. Here, making sure I had treated myself (as I did every day) with my six dollar latte. Making it even worse, not tipping the Barista (workman), because the coffee is already expensive enough. Food stores (all stores imaginable) and Amazon (my favorite) at my every day convenience. What a self-indulgent life! This is the life that I preach others not to have, but this is the life that somehow I live and embrace.

Application

Jesus, I really am rich and in so many ways, but I am blessed to be rich in the only way that it truly matters. During my time yesterday, just basking in You, I felt a release of the coffees that I needed to buy every day. Thank You, Jesus, for revealing the “fat life” I have been living. If that life brings weeping, wailing, and slaughter – I do not want any part of it. I only want a life that will bring me You.

Prayer

Father, You can have my self-indulgent ways (my expensive, greedy coffee habit, for sure); it’s Yours and I give it to You. Let me not bring on any more disappointment and misery; let me too hear the cries of those crying out. I want to make You proud through my contentment in You and generosity for others. In Your understanding name…Amen.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on April 19, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Day 2 and we’re already going for the jugular with coffee! Thank you for risking vulnerability and putting it out there, Dyea! As I conversed with God today over a run at the lake, He was making sure I remembered that whole plank in my eye verse from Matthew 7:3-5. Already, as I’m reading, I’m quick to see other’s faults, but I shouldn’t leave it there. I need to dig the plank out of my eye first. I don’t struggle with coffee, but I do struggle with ice cream/donuts/cookies/cake–those are my self-indulgent ways, and I’m even literally fattening myself in my over-indulgence. But drive-thrus make it so easy! All the more we need Your strength and wisdom, God! If the only way for me to work on self-control is to see how I am throwing away Your money investing in my fat cells, then that’s what I need to see and understand so that these over-indulgences will not be testimony of my life.

    Like

Leave a Response

