James 4:13-17 – April 13

Welcome to our study in the book of James which will go through April 15. Read today’s scripture, journal on it using SOAP, then please share as we encourage one another in this one thing. Below is the NIV version of today’s reading, then below that is a SOAP from one of our study leaders. The Comments section on our website is an open forum for sharing, requesting prayer, and asking questions.

James 4:13-17 – Boasting About Tomorrow

13 Now listen, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.” 14 Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. 15 Instead, you ought to say, “If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.” 16 As it is, you boast in your arrogant schemes. All such boasting is evil. 17 If anyone, then, knows the good they ought to do and doesn’t do it, it is sin for them.

Only God Knows What is Best | Rebecca Hoyt

Scripture

James 4:15

Observation

My Bible says James condemns those who leave God and His values out of their way of life. He exhorts businessmen to change their boastful attitudes. James also warns about the sins of omission or neglecting to do what is right.

Application

I’ve been thinking a lot about where we are going to move next year. Stay in the same city or move to one nearby? What school is best for my kids? I asked God today to please give me a clear sign on where He wants us to go by November (because that’s when we’d have to start enrolling for a Christian school). I think He is telling me here to be patient and not worry; He will let me know His plan. And (as hard as this is for me) instead of asking for a good safe neighborhood with nice Christian people, He wants me to pray for His will and where He wants us to be instead of what I think we should do.

Prayer

Father thank You for easing my mind and showing me You’ve got it covered. I don’t have to worry about it. Please, Father, give me a heart, even if it’s out of my comfort zone, to pray what is Your will for me.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Posted on April 13, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Response

