Advent Day 7 – Luke 1:46-56

Mary’s Song

46 And Mary said:

“My soul glorifies the Lord
47     and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior,
48 for he has been mindful
    of the humble state of his servant.
From now on all generations will call me blessed,
49     for the Mighty One has done great things for me—
    holy is his name.
50 His mercy extends to those who fear him,
    from generation to generation.
51 He has performed mighty deeds with his arm;
    he has scattered those who are proud in their inmost thoughts.
52 He has brought down rulers from their thrones
    but has lifted up the humble.
53 He has filled the hungry with good things
    but has sent the rich away empty.
54 He has helped his servant Israel,
    remembering to be merciful
55 to Abraham and his descendants forever,
    just as he promised our ancestors.”

56 Mary stayed with Elizabeth for about three months and then returned home.

 

Thank you for joining our family Advent study! Advent is an arrival or coming, and it’s a time for us as Christians to prepare for the coming of Jesus on Christmas. Our reading plan during Advent will explore the Christmas story and is based on the family-friendly Advent study “Truth in the Tinsel” by Amanda White. We will be using the daily scriptures in our personal time at the feet of Jesus while we SOAP (Not sure what SOAP is? Go here for the tutorial.) and then sharing these scriptures with our families so we can all prepare together and learn what Christmas is really about. For ideas to keep the young ones engaged and daily ornament crafts, get your copy of “Truth in the Tinsel” here.

Below is a SOAP journal entry from our team to help dive into God’s Word. We encourage you to join in this study by sharing in the Comments section on our website. You can share what God’s teaching you or your family, prayer requests, family Christmas traditions, funny responses from your kids, etc.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Blessed Are Those Who Are Humble | Becky Newman
Scripture

Luke 1:48

Observation

Mary’s song has an overall theme that God blesses those who are humble. Mary’s humility shines in Luke’s Christmas story. She is likely Luke’s source for this story. In Luke 1:38, she refers to herself as the Lord’s servant. And here in verse 48, she says that God sees her as His humble servant, and His gift for serving Him humbly is that she will be called blessed throughout history. God had to choose a special type of woman to bear and raise His son. Her eyes could not be set on fame and glory; her eyes had to be firmly set on serving God.

Application

My mom was sitting with us as I read the Day 5 scripture to my kiddos (angel Gabriel telling Mary that she would become pregnant with God’s son). The word of the day was “Mary”, and she made a point to tell us that she should be called the Blessed Mother, not just Mary or Jesus’ mommy; this was something I heard a lot growing up–reverence for the woman God chose to be the mother of His son. Pride crept into my head as I thought, “Well, the Bible calls her Mary.” But, I restrained my tongue that time. God uses little things like this to teach me a lesson and keep my mouth shut. Indeed, in verse 48, Mary says, “And from now on, all generations will call me blessed.” How about a compromise–I’ll call her Blessed Mary. Humility is definitely something I could use more of. I am quite certain that I would not have been chosen as God’s humble servant if I were alive in Blessed Mary’s day, especially the teenager me. She doesn’t say much, but I can learn a lot from her song on how to serve and please God.

Prayer

So funny that You’re giving me a message of humility today on the hardest day of the year to be humble, my birthday. But I also know it’s very much needed considering my last birthday was the biggest hissy fit I’ve ever thrown of not getting enough attention. I’m still reminded by the milk stains on my front windows from the cup I threw. God, help me to serve You better, to not make it about fame or glory or pats on the back, but to make it all about glorifying You. Help me to sing a song to You today!

Posted on December 7, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Happy Birthday, Becky!!! I love you! (:

    Like

  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY BECKY!!! I hope you are having a fun day!

    Like

  3. Thank you for the birthday wishes! God made a beautiful day for me! We did tonight’s study right before bed, and I had the kiddos sing a song when they heard the word of the day. Then we ended with a round of Joy to the World. They loved it!

    Like

Leave a Response

