Advent Days 4 and 5 – Luke 1:26-38

The Birth of Jesus Foretold

26 In the sixth month of Elizabeth’s pregnancy, God sent the angel Gabriel to Nazareth, a town in Galilee, 27 to a virgin pledged to be married to a man named Joseph, a descendant of David. The virgin’s name was Mary. 28 The angel went to her and said, “Greetings, you who are highly favored! The Lord is with you.”

29 Mary was greatly troubled at his words and wondered what kind of greeting this might be. 30 But the angel said to her, “Do not be afraid, Mary; you have found favor with God. 31 You will conceive and give birth to a son, and you are to call him Jesus. 32 He will be great and will be called the Son of the Most High. The Lord God will give him the throne of his father David, 33 and he will reign over Jacob’s descendants forever; his kingdom will never end.”

34 “How will this be,” Mary asked the angel, “since I am a virgin?”

35 The angel answered, “The Holy Spirit will come on you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you. So the holy one to be born will be called the Son of God. 36 Even Elizabeth your relative is going to have a child in her old age, and she who was said to be unable to conceive is in her sixth month. 37 For no word from God will ever fail.”

38 “I am the Lord’s servant,” Mary answered. “May your word to me be fulfilled.” Then the angel left her.

 

Welcome to our family Advent study! Advent is an arrival or coming, and it’s a time for us as Christians to prepare for the coming of Jesus on Christmas. Our reading plan during Advent will explore the Christmas story and is based on the family-friendly Advent study “Truth in the Tinsel” by Amanda White. We will be using the daily scriptures in our personal time at the feet of Jesus while we SOAP (Not sure what SOAP is? Go here for the tutorial.) and then sharing these scriptures with our families so we can all prepare together and learn what Christmas is really about. For ideas to keep the young ones engaged and daily ornament crafts, get your copy of “Truth in the Tinsel” here.

Below is a SOAP journal entry from our team to help dive into God’s Word. We encourage you to join in this study by sharing in the Comments section on our website. You can share what God’s teaching you or your family, prayer requests, family Christmas traditions, funny responses from your kids, etc.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Favor | Dyea Rowland
Scripture

Luke 1:28

Observation

I love this verse more and more every time I read it. I have often wondered what my reaction would be if an angel appeared before me. So far, at least unbeknownst to me, I haven’t had that experience. For Mary, that wasn’t the case. She not only had an angel appear before her, but the angel went on to explain that not only had the almighty God found favor with her, but THAT He was also giving her a child. And NOT only a child, the Savior of the world, Jesus. It gives me a fun kind of anxiousness feeling every single time I think about it. I conclude that I’m really not sure what I would do if an angel would appear to me. Thanks be to Mary though for doing everything she was to do and doing it in such a way to find favor with the Lord.

I remember when I found out that I was pregnant with my son, definitely not a favorable circumstance. An angel hadn’t come to deliver the news, but I do remember I was anxious, overwhelmed…no I take that back, I was down-right scared out of my mind. I kept thinking what would people think of me, due to my situation; what was I going to do in the means of taking care of him. I just couldn’t imagine how I was going to raise this little baby. I’m sure that I’m not too far off-base to say Mary had some of the same feelings (as we read). Little did I know, God knew, and it was all going to be okay! Just like He knew when it came to our King Jesus.

Knowing what I know now, God found favor in my situation too. He knew that even though I ignored the Holy Spirit on so many different occasions that it would all eventually lead me right to Jesus. The main reason for this passage today, the reason Gabriel appeared to Mary – God knew we all needed a Savior. Today I am full of the Holy Spirit, and though I know I don’t always make Jesus happy, He loves me unconditionally – just the way I am!

Application

You found favor with me. I’m going to love my precious little December gift just like Mary loved You.

Prayer

Father, thank You, it was six years ago yesterday that my precious baby boy was born. You know how both Mary and I felt when we got the news. We both had doubts, but as You reminded us in Your passage today and remind us always, “with You nothing shall be impossible.” To this day, I could not imagine my life without either one of you – what true blessings – in more ways than one. I ask that the Holy Spirit continues to guide me in all of my days and that I shall always find favor with You. During this Christmas season, may we reflect on all the favor You have shown us and praise Your great name…Amen.

Posted on December 4, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. So beautiful, Dyea!

    Like

Leave a Response

