Revelation 10:1-7 – November 4

God, please give us a fresh revelation of Jesus Christ as we study the book of Revelation!

We’ll be studying Revelation through the end of November. Please feel free to read and journal with us as often as you can, with the goal of getting to daily time at the feet of Jesus. For this study, we are using Beth Moore’s “Here and Now…There and Then” lecture series and study guide on Revelation as a resource, so you may see it referenced occasionally.

You can read the NIV version of today’s reading below or your favorite Bible version then spend some time meditating and journaling on the reading, letting God speak to you through it. We encourage use of the SOAP method of Bible study as you grow in your relationship with God. Check out the What’s SOAP tab above for more info. Also, below today’s reading is a SOAP journal entry from our team to help dive into God’s Word. And we encourage you to share your SOAP journal entry, prayer requests, or questions in the Comments section on our website.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Revelation 10:1-7 – The Angel and the Little Scroll

10 Then I saw another mighty angel coming down from heaven. He was robed in a cloud, with a rainbow above his head; his face was like the sun, and his legs were like fiery pillars. He was holding a little scroll, which lay open in his hand. He planted his right foot on the sea and his left foot on the land, and he gave a loud shout like the roar of a lion. When he shouted, the voices of the seven thunders spoke. And when the seven thunders spoke, I was about to write; but I heard a voice from heaven say, “Seal up what the seven thunders have said and do not write it down.”

Then the angel I had seen standing on the sea and on the land raised his right hand to heaven. And he swore by him who lives for ever and ever, who created the heavens and all that is in them, the earth and all that is in it, and the sea and all that is in it, and said, “There will be no more delay! But in the days when the seventh angel is about to sound his trumpet, the mystery of God will be accomplished, just as he announced to his servants the prophets.”

 

Mighty Angel | Rebecca Hoyt

Scripture

Revelation 10:1-2

Observation

I love the detail of what the mighty angel looked like! When I was reading some commentaries on this reading, I came across the IVP New Testament commentary series to get a better picture of who this mighty angel was and his importance to these verses. (It’s a little long but I really liked how this angel is compared to several verses.) This angel is distinguished from most angels in John’s visions by being called mighty or strong. The only “mighty angel” we have met before is the one John had seen in heaven “proclaiming with a loud voice” like the roar of a lion (verse 10:3). The rainbow above his head (verse 10:1) recalls the rainbow encircling the throne of God in John’s first glimpse of heaven (verse 4:3), while the comparison of his face to the sun recalls the angel in John’s introductory vision (verse 1:16) who identified himself as the risen one (verses 1:17-18). This mighty angel has an aura of divinity about him that prompts some commentators to see him as Jesus Christ himself. (This commentator thinks it’s unlikely.) Yet the angel does represent God, or the power of God, in a way that most other angelic figures do not. He stands astride land and sea as one who is sovereign over both (verse 2 compares God’s judgment on the land and sea in connection with the first 2 trumpets). Although he is not Christ in person, he can be viewed as a Divine agent acting on behalf of God and the Lamb. That Jesus uses certain angels to represent him in John’s visions, in verse 22:16 “I, Jesus have sent my angel to give you this testimony for the churches.”

Application

In the midst of reading all the bad stuff, I love this beautiful detailed picture of Jesus’ Angel and the complete control God always has over the earth.

Prayer

Thank You, dear God, for Your beautiful detail You have given us when describing heaven and angels. As I look outside at Your beautiful fall colors, it makes me so happy to think how much more beautiful heaven will be.

Posted on November 4, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Verse 10:4 – My Bible notes here say it better than I could: “John was instructed not to record what he had just heard. The book of Revelation gives hope for the future and inspires godly living in the present; it is not meant to provide a total blueprint for the end times. Believers ought to live as if these events could begin at any time; they should be cautious in accepting any teaching which claims to give full particulars of future events.” I am thankful that our God is so much bigger and greater that there are mysteries that will always be hidden from us here in the world.

    Like

  2. My Bible notes had something that really struck me right where I needed it. It said, “In our desire to be ready for the end, we must not place more emphasis on speculation about the last days than on living for God while we wait.” I’ve been thinking since starting this study that if I totally immersed myself in it that I would overcome my fears of the end times and be READY for it (Type A gal here)! However, I think that I was focusing too much on questioning the details that I lost the whole point. It’s great that I am overcoming the fear of what’s to come (truly I am!) but I still need to put ALL my focus on living for God while I wait.

    Like

Leave a Response

