Revelation 3:14-22 – October 21

God, please give us a fresh revelation of Jesus Christ as we study the book of Revelation!

We’ll be studying Revelation through the end of November. Please feel free to read and journal with us as often as you can, with the goal of getting to daily time at the feet of Jesus. For this study, we are using Beth Moore’s “Here and Now…There and Then” lecture series and study guide on Revelation as a resource, so you may see it referenced occasionally, or if you want to know what Ms. Moore has to say about a specific verse, just ask in the comments section on our website.

You can read the NIV version of today’s reading below or your favorite Bible version then spend some time meditating and journaling on the reading, letting God speak to you through it. We encourage use of the SOAP method of Bible study as you grow in your relationship with God. Check out the What’s SOAP tab above for more info. Also, below today’s reading is a SOAP journal entry from our team to help dive into God’s Word. And we encourage you to share your SOAP journal entry, prayer requests, or questions in the Comments section on our website.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Revelation 3:14-22 – To the Church in Laodicea

14 “To the angel of the church in Laodicea write:

These are the words of the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the ruler of God’s creation. 15 I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! 16 So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth. 17 You say, ‘I am rich; I have acquired wealth and do not need a thing.’ But you do not realize that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked. 18 I counsel you to buy from me gold refined in the fire, so you can become rich; and white clothes to wear, so you can cover your shameful nakedness; and salve to put on your eyes, so you can see.

19 Those whom I love I rebuke and discipline. So be earnest and repent. 20 Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me.

21 To the one who is victorious, I will give the right to sit with me on my throne, just as I was victorious and sat down with my Father on his throne. 22 Whoever has ears, let them hear what the Spirit says to the churches.”

 

Not Being Just Luke-Warm | Rebecca Hoyt

Scripture

Revelation 3:16, 19-20

Observation

The church in Laodicea is the last of the churches. This is the only one God does not issue a commendation for something good they do. God is saying that even though there is nothing good that you’re doing (you’re just luke warm), verse 19 says, “Those whom I love I rebuke and discipline. So be earnest, and repent.” He is saying I love you and am here waiting for you to return to me. Verse 20: “Here I am! I stand at the door and knock.” Open the door!

Application

In the movie War Room, Clara says you don’t want to be just luke-warm. We don’t want to go to church just sometimes or go on Sunday and not live it out the rest of the week. We don’t want a church that goes along with everything; we want a church on fire for Christ. We are luke-warm when our deeds are half-hearted. I want to do good, but I don’t want to get out of my comfort zone, or I only do it when it fits into my life or my schedule, when it suits me. I want to be hot for God not just luke-warm. I want to make God’s will a priority instead of when it fits in.

Prayer

Dear God, please help me to make Your will a priority and plan my life around You, not the other way around. Please remind me that when You’re #1 in my life, everything else is so much better.

Posted on October 21, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Happy Birthday, Rebecca!

    Like

  2. Vs. 17 – “I am rich. I have acquired wealth and do not need a thing.” It’s kind of hard to be lukewarm if we’ve discovered that One Thing we need more than anything else. He is faithful to those who draw near to Him!

    In both of these last two letters to the churches (Philadelphia and Laodicea), Jesus talks about an open door. Be on the lookout for an open door in tomorrow’s reading too!

    Like

Leave a Response

