Revelation 3:7-13 – October 20

God, please give us a fresh revelation of Jesus Christ as we study the book of Revelation!

We’ll be studying Revelation through the end of November. Please feel free to read and journal with us as often as you can, with the goal of getting to daily time at the feet of Jesus. For this study, we are using Beth Moore’s “Here and Now…There and Then” lecture series and study guide on Revelation as a resource, so you may see it referenced occasionally, or if you want to know what Ms. Moore has to say about a specific verse, just ask in the comments section on our website.

You can read the NIV version of today’s reading below or your favorite Bible version then spend some time meditating and journaling on the reading, letting God speak to you through it. We encourage use of the SOAP method of Bible study as you grow in your relationship with God. Check out the What’s SOAP tab above for more info. Also, below today’s reading is a SOAP journal entry from our team to help dive into God’s Word. And we encourage you to share your SOAP journal entry, prayer requests, or questions in the Comments section on our website.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Revelation 3:7-13 – To the Church in Philadelphia

“To the angel of the church in Philadelphia write:

These are the words of him who is holy and true, who holds the key of David. What he opens no one can shut, and what he shuts no one can open. I know your deeds. See, I have placed before you an open door that no one can shut. I know that you have little strength, yet you have kept my word and have not denied my name. I will make those who are of the synagogue of Satan, who claim to be Jews though they are not, but are liars—I will make them come and fall down at your feet and acknowledge that I have loved you. 10 Since you have kept my command to endure patiently, I will also keep you from the hour of trial that is going to come on the whole world to test the inhabitants of the earth.

11 I am coming soon. Hold on to what you have, so that no one will take your crown. 12 The one who is victorious I will make a pillar in the temple of my God. Never again will they leave it. I will write on them the name of my God and the name of the city of my God, the new Jerusalem, which is coming down out of heaven from my God; and I will also write on them my new name. 13 Whoever has ears, let them hear what the Spirit says to the churches.

 

WATCH | Dyea Rowland

Scripture

Revelation 3:10

Observation

God knows the deeds of this church. It is an enduring church and definitely has His approval. He encourages them to be strong. His promise in verse 9 is that the synagogue of Satan, which had been discussed in Chapter 2 (same meaning here), will literally come and fall at the “overcomers” feet, to prove that God indeed loves the Christians. There is no “Jew” nor Gentile in the eyes of God…NO ONE is better in His eyes.

This passage was pretty self explanatory – all except the word “hour”. In my research, I discovered it was used in Revelation 14:7, 17:12, and 18:10, 17, and 19. I won’t go into too much detail here. From all my take away, it appears to be God’s wrath being poured out, which we know “overcomers” will not have to endure.

What we are to be watching for thus far in the tribulation is when Anti-Christ will be setting up and will also reign. Christians will be forced to take the “mark” and be persecuted. No true believer will take the mark. The sun and moon will be darkened immediately after the tribulation. The wrath of God is to happen after the sun and moon are darkened (so after the tribulation). The word “hour” can be defined as God’s wrath and is not to be confused with the word “tribulation.”

Application

Keep revealing! I want to know everything as it is to happen…I want my teachings from You, so I can be urgent in delivering Your truth.

Prayer

Father, I want my crown; I want others to receive the crown! Help us wake up, watch, endure, and overcome together. Continue to keep Your doors open, and shut the ones that are not of You. In Your steadfast Name…Amen.

Posted on October 20, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Happy Birthday, Dyea!

    Like

Leave a Response

