Revelation 3:1-6 – October 19

God, please give us a fresh revelation of Jesus Christ as we study the book of Revelation!

We’ll be studying Revelation through the end of November. Please feel free to read and journal with us as often as you can, with the goal of getting to daily time at the feet of Jesus. For this study, we are using Beth Moore’s “Here and Now…There and Then” lecture series and study guide on Revelation as a resource, so you may see it referenced occasionally, or if you want to know what Ms. Moore has to say about a specific verse, just ask in the comments section on our website.

You can read the NIV version of today’s reading below or your favorite Bible version then spend some time meditating and journaling on the reading, letting God speak to you through it. We encourage use of the SOAP method of Bible study as you grow in your relationship with God. Check out the What’s SOAP tab above for more info. Also, below today’s reading is a SOAP journal entry from our team to help dive into God’s Word. And we encourage you to share your SOAP journal entry, prayer requests, or questions in the Comments section on our website.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Revelation 3:1-6 – To the Church in Sardis

“To the angel of the church in Sardis write:

These are the words of him who holds the seven spirits of God and the seven stars. I know your deeds; you have a reputation of being alive, but you are dead. Wake up! Strengthen what remains and is about to die, for I have found your deeds unfinished in the sight of my God. Remember, therefore, what you have received and heard; hold it fast, and repent. But if you do not wake up, I will come like a thief, and you will not know at what time I will come to you.

Yet you have a few people in Sardis who have not soiled their clothes. They will walk with me, dressed in white, for they are worthy. The one who is victorious will, like them, be dressed in white. I will never blot out the name of that person from the book of life, but will acknowledge that name before my Father and his angels. Whoever has ears, let them hear what the Spirit says to the churches.

 

WAKE UP! | Becky Newman

Scripture

Revelation 3:2

Observation

My Bible notes that the people of Sardis were known for their luxurious, indulgent lifestyles. Sardis was built on a steep hill at the junction of several major Roman roads and was considered impregnable to attack. But, twice enemy troops captured the city because they weren’t keeping watch. In verse 3, Jesus alludes to His words from Matthew 24 and 25 about what the end of days will be like, specifically 24:43-44: “…If the owner of the house had known at what time of night the thief was coming, he would have kept watch and would not have let his house be broken into. So you also must be ready, because the Son of Man will come at an hour when you do not expect him.” Their physical comfort in this world made them lose sight of eternity outside of this world. They were storing up their treasures here rather than in heaven.

Application

I’m well aware that I, like the people of Sardis, live a luxurious, indulgent lifestyle. For example, I go out and buy ice cream whenever I want. This letter is definitely talking to me and probably most people in our country. God wants me to stay vigilant and not to get too comfortable in this world. These “deeds” in verse 2 are not things of this world, like cleaning out the dishwasher or grocery shopping; rather, they are things He has willed me to do for His glory, and what He wills should not be left unfinished. The more comfortable I get in my daily routine, the less I focus on Him and His will, and the more I become “of the world”. WAKE UP! There’s no time for procrastination or ignorance when Jesus comes. I can’t cram in these deeds the night before He comes. My obedience to His will needs to be part of my DNA, interwoven into my heart, and completed ASAP when He wills. Our current sermon series is on being ready for forever, as in it’s part of my being to be ready for eternity. I want to be one of the five wise virgins who stayed ready for the bridegroom and went with him into the wedding banquet when he came (Matthew 25:1-13).

Prayer

God, keep me vigilant, focused on You and Your will. If You will me to do something, help me get it done with all glory and honor to You in light of eternity. Help me not to get too comfortable in this world but to yearn for eternity with You and pleasing You. Thank You for Your revelation, God, and please continue to reveal to me and those joining with us in this study.

Posted on October 19, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Becky, your prayer is my prayer. The end. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Response

