Revelation 2:18-29 – October 18

God, please give us a fresh revelation of Jesus Christ as we study the book of Revelation!

We’ll be studying Revelation through the end of November. Please feel free to read and journal with us as often as you can, with the goal of getting to daily time at the feet of Jesus. For this study, we are using Beth Moore’s “Here and Now…There and Then” lecture series and study guide on Revelation as a resource, so you may see it referenced occasionally, or if you want to know what Ms. Moore has to say about a specific verse, just ask in the comments section on our website.

You can read the NIV version of today’s reading below or your favorite Bible version then spend some time meditating and journaling on the reading, letting God speak to you through it. We encourage use of the SOAP method of Bible study as you grow in your relationship with God. Check out the What’s SOAP tab above for more info. Please share your SOAP journal entry, prayer requests, or questions in the Comments section on our website.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Revelation 2:18-29 – To the Church in Thyatira

18 “To the angel of the church in Thyatira write:

These are the words of the Son of God, whose eyes are like blazing fire and whose feet are like burnished bronze. 19 I know your deeds, your love and faith, your service and perseverance, and that you are now doing more than you did at first.

20 Nevertheless, I have this against you: You tolerate that woman Jezebel, who calls herself a prophet. By her teaching she misleads my servants into sexual immorality and the eating of food sacrificed to idols. 21 I have given her time to repent of her immorality, but she is unwilling. 22 So I will cast her on a bed of suffering, and I will make those who commit adultery with her suffer intensely, unless they repent of her ways. 23 I will strike her children dead. Then all the churches will know that I am he who searches hearts and minds, and I will repay each of you according to your deeds.

24 Now I say to the rest of you in Thyatira, to you who do not hold to her teaching and have not learned Satan’s so-called deep secrets, ‘I will not impose any other burden on you, 25 except to hold on to what you have until I come.’

26 To the one who is victorious and does my will to the end, I will give authority over the nations— 27 that one ‘will rule them with an iron scepter and will dash them to pieces like pottery’—just as I have received authority from my Father. 28 I will also give that one the morning star. 29 Whoever has ears, let them hear what the Spirit says to the churches.

Posted on October 18, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Some language I’ve been noticing in these letters to the churches leads me to a tough question, one that denominations have divided over. Just wondering if any of you would be willing to share what you’ve learned on this: once saved, can we lose our salvation?

    The language I’ve noticed: “hold on to what you have” (vs. 2:25), “be faithful into the point of death, and I will give you life as your victor’s crown” (vs. 2:10), “to the one who is victorious, I will give the right to eat from the tree of life” (vs 2:7), “the one who is victorious will not be hurt at all by the second death” (vs. 2:11), “if you do not repent, I will come to you and remove your lampstand from its place” (vs. 2:5), “the one who is victorious will, like them, be dressed in white. I will never blot out the name of that person from the book of life” (vs. 3:5).

    Like

  2. S~ Nevertheless, I have this against you: You tolerate that woman Jezebel, who calls herself a prophet. By her teaching she misleads my servants into sexual immorality and the eating of food sacrificed to idols. Rev 2:20

    O~ Satan was infiltrating the church with one who was misleading the people and they were accepting her teaching and acting upon it. Some were participating in the trade guilds for the sake of their businesses and participating in immoral behaviors. God’s warning to the ones who were following this Jezebel was that they would be taken down with her.

    A~ This example shows the extreme importance of knowing God’s Word, praying for discernment, offering accountability for leaders and teachers, and having zero tolerance for those who would lead people astray. Lack of discipline can destroy a church from the inside out. Greed, unethical behaviors, and undisciplined lifestyles that are tolerated inside the church can corrupt the whole community.

    P~ Lord, search our hearts for anything in us, as individuals, that is out of line with Your heart. Give us knowledge of Your Word and wisdom in choosing leaders and teachers. Make us able to clearly discern Truth and not tolerate misrepresentation of it or behaviors that dishonor You. Lord, protect Your Church!

    Like

  3. Becky to answer your question. I too have heard the sermons about once sealed always sealed. As of late though I believe God has been placing a real burden on my heart about faith being an ACTION word. It’s not enough to say “I believe.”. In the same way that a relationship dies without regular maintenance.
    I believe that many who ” believe” will be found wanting in the judgement. They professed with their mouths but the proof is in the fruit. Putting faith into action.
    Faith in action is true salvation that can’t be lost because there’s a maturity that recognizes ( with the Spirit s help)sin and its tangles.
    Then again…. I could be very wrong. 😉

    Like

  4. What false prophets am I putting up with? How does one go after those trapped by a false prophet? This is where I struggle. Speaking the truth in love but sometimes I wonder if I need to be using more weapons than that. Being more bold. Too careful not to offend. Time is running out. No more time for playing it safe. Still need to be loving but more like a Lion than a lamb.

    Like

  5. I’ve always struggled with once-saved-always-saved, myself. I’ve tried to accept it, but I could never just make it fit. So…here is what is still being revealed to me. I have counted up the word deeds, in chapter 2 and 3 alone and it is used over 17 times. The word overcome is used in all seven churches. God says He knows our deeds – and don’t our deeds reveal what is in our hearts, right? A true believer will not be deceived or take the mark. God has told us (been telling us), the order of events, to watch and be prepared. This is why I say a true believers will not be deceived, in turn, be able to overcome. If you overcome than you’ll be sure to have your name in the book. It all goes hand in hand. It won’t be easy, but that’s when you hold onto that God has it all under control and you and you’re best interest. Bottom line, be good in your “deeds” and be ready to overcome.

    Like

Leave a Response

