Romans 15:14-22 – October 9

We’re continuing in the book of Romans until October 12 and then starting Revelation on October 13. Please feel free to read and journal with us as often as you can, with the goal of getting to daily time at the feet of Jesus.

You can read the NIV version below or your favorite Bible version then spend some time meditating and journaling on the reading, letting God speak to you through it. We encourage use of the SOAP method of Bible study as you grow in your relationship with God. Check out the What’s SOAP tab above for more info. Also, below today’s reading is a SOAP journal entry from our team to help dive into God’s Word. And we encourage you to share your SOAP journal entry or prayer requests in the Comments section on our website.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Romans 15:14-22 – Paul the Minister to the Gentiles

14 I myself am convinced, my brothers and sisters, that you yourselves are full of goodness, filled with knowledge and competent to instruct one another. 15 Yet I have written you quite boldly on some points to remind you of them again, because of the grace God gave me 16 to be a minister of Christ Jesus to the Gentiles. He gave me the priestly duty of proclaiming the gospel of God, so that the Gentiles might become an offering acceptable to God, sanctified by the Holy Spirit.

17 Therefore I glory in Christ Jesus in my service to God. 18 I will not venture to speak of anything except what Christ has accomplished through me in leading the Gentiles to obey God by what I have said and done— 19 by the power of signs and wonders, through the power of the Spirit of God. So from Jerusalem all the way around to Illyricum, I have fully proclaimed the gospel of Christ. 20 It has always been my ambition to preach the gospel where Christ was not known, so that I would not be building on someone else’s foundation. 21 Rather, as it is written:

“Those who were not told about him will see,
    and those who have not heard will understand.”

22 This is why I have often been hindered from coming to you.

Reminded Soul | Dyea Rowland

Scripture

Romans 15:14-15

Observation

As the study on the book of Romans wraps up and our new study begins, please take these verses to heart – Paul states – and let this be an encouraging take away – “I myself am convinced, that you yourselves are full of goodness, complete in knowledge and competent to instruct one another.” We’ve shown a great display of that on our Discover One Thing discussion forum. I am blessed that I have gotten to be on this journey with all of you, and I am excited for the new study that is about to begin. There were great posts, encouraging posts, real posts, all with deep thinking and understanding. With all of that being said, again, what a blessing this study has been – being reminded of God’s grace, with comforting verses, what a way of edifying scripture.

Application

Let me continue to be an instrument in teaching and bringing the gospel to others; let me continue to be bold in situations when things are not honoring to You; let me always be encouraging in love and compassion in and of truth.

Prayer

Father, thank You for allowing me to be a servant to You in this ministry. None of it on my accord, and I give all of the glory to You. Allow me to continue leading, sharing, and obeying – with the words I type, speak, and believe – all that You have said are true. I pray in our next study of “revealing” others will continue to be bold and very involved as You unfold more of Your truth to us. Thank You for the Resurrection and Redemption. In Your edifying name…Amen.

Posted on October 9, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Verse 16 gives me a better understanding of sanctification. By growing in a relationship with God and Him changing me more and more into His image, hopefully every day, but more like 2 steps forward 1.95 steps back, He is slowly transforming me into a more acceptable offering. Things that increase my acceptability as an offering to God: choosing Him and His ways over the ways of this world, reading His Word and taking it to heart through applying it, letting go of my firm hold in this world and truly experiencing full worship humbled before Him, being in continual prayer and dialogue with Him throughout my day, sacrificing my time and letting the Holy Spirit use my hands and feet, joining with a community of believers in encouraging one another all for His glory. God is beautiful, and thus there is beauty in this season of sanctification. Make my ways please You today, God!

    Like

Leave a Response

