Romans 14:1-11 – October 6

We’re continuing in the book of Romans until October 12 and then starting Revelation on October 13. Please feel free to read and journal with us as often as you can, with the goal of getting to daily time at the feet of Jesus.

You can read the NIV version below or your favorite Bible version then spend some time meditating and journaling on the reading, letting God speak to you through it. We encourage use of the SOAP method of Bible study as you grow in your relationship with God. Check out the What’s SOAP tab above for more info. Also, below today’s reading is a SOAP journal entry from our team to help dive into God’s Word. And we encourage you to share your SOAP journal entry or prayer requests in the Comments section on our website.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

Romans 14:1-11 – The Weak and the Strong

14 Accept the one whose faith is weak, without quarreling over disputable matters. One person’s faith allows them to eat anything, but another, whose faith is weak, eats only vegetables. The one who eats everything must not treat with contempt the one who does not, and the one who does not eat everything must not judge the one who does, for God has accepted them. Who are you to judge someone else’s servant? To their own master, servants stand or fall. And they will stand, for the Lord is able to make them stand.

One person considers one day more sacred than another; another considers every day alike. Each of them should be fully convinced in their own mind. Whoever regards one day as special does so to the Lord. Whoever eats meat does so to the Lord, for they give thanks to God; and whoever abstains does so to the Lord and gives thanks to God. For none of us lives for ourselves alone, and none of us dies for ourselves alone. If we live, we live for the Lord; and if we die, we die for the Lord. So, whether we live or die, we belong to the Lord. For this very reason, Christ died and returned to life so that he might be the Lord of both the dead and the living.

10 You, then, why do you judge your brother or sister? Or why do you treat them with contempt? For we will all stand before God’s judgment seat. 11 It is written:

“‘As surely as I live,’ says the Lord,
‘every knee will bow before me;
    every tongue will acknowledge God.’”

 

Love, Out of the Grave and Into Action | Dyea Rowland

Scripture

Romans 14:9

Observation

Bare with me as I try and put my thoughts into words. This chapter as a whole is something that God is using on and in me. He is working an area of my life that I have been struggling with for over six years. Possibly even areas that I haven’t realized and recognized yet.

So recap of the week – the Holy Spirit has been laying a word on me the past few days, an odd word – “Resurrection” – kind of strange since Easter is a ways away and this isn’t a gospel study. In verse 9, He has brought it to my attention again “..returned to life”. What is that word exactly? Why this word? I say it, I know it, but for me, I have seemed to overlooked the significance it holds! I’ve never thought about it like I have this week.

Jesus died and rose again, and if you believe that, you’ll get to go to heaven. This tends to be how I go about my life. It’s the standard answer I give when telling people this is how they can spend eternity with Him. It is how I tell people that I am certain I am going to heaven. He’s laid it on my heart that I have become cavalier about it. The feeling for what I do for Christ and how I live for him – I don’t live for the power in that word. Without this word “Resurrection” – there would be no “Redemption” (another very important word); there would be no truth, because it would make Jesus just another guy.

So back to where I struggle – it is with my son’s father who claims to be a believer. Of course, I would call him weak, not in the sense of knowing the Bible, but just like it speaks of here, more on the “disputable matters”. His decisions and motives are horrible. Oh it is so hard for me not to judge him and his ways and look down on him for decisions he makes. But here I am looking down on him, knowing he belongs to God, knowing that we will all stand before God at His judgment seat – guess that is where verse 4 comes in to play – God will decide if they have done wrong things,rather than I.

Application

I’m guilty, and I look for and expect him to make mistakes. When I try to love the situation, I fall into this trap of frustration because he doesn’t see Your ways the same that I do. Let me trust You with the situation You have given me. It’s my thorn, help me live with the annoyance, refine me and make me a better person for it,and my son as well.

Prayer

Father, what POWER in the RESURRECTION – You’re not JUST another man – You ARE LORD of LORDS and KING of KINGS; You will come to judge the living and the dead. I want to be alive and healthy when You come for me. I want to follow Your ways and not get caught up in the disputable matters. You bled freely so I may live freely – let me never forget that I belong to You, just as my brothers and sisters do. Let me love whom I have labeled “unlovable”; let me not separate because You welcome us all with open arms. In Your utmost and powerful name…Amen.

Posted on October 6, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Really good point today, Dyea! The squabbles are all around us, and it’s hard to know when we should take a stand and when we should not. I thought it was funny when I read verse 2; if you read that verse in isolation, you’d think all vegetarians have weak faith. But that’s not Paul’s point. He gives that example but it could be anything from the color of the carpet in the church to adultery. His point is that the Resurrection is what matters to our salvation. We should take a stand when it pertains to salvation and trust God with working out the details beyond that.

    Like

  2. S – Romans 14:1 “Accept him whose faith is weak…”

    O – Like it always happens, my Bible notes give me the Ah-Ha moments. Today it said, “we are all weak in some areas and strong in others.” Wait… What? I’ve often felt like I wasn’t a “good-enough” Christian when I was around my family (nonbelievers, drunkenness, Uber critical, mouths like sailors, etc). It’s probably my biggest area of struggle since being saved. Every time I was around them, I felt pressured to fall into their bad patterns like I had before Christ came into my life. In the last year or so though, I have felt more empowered to try and influence them for good rather than being influenced by them. I’m certain that they talk about me and my family when we’re not around, and I’m mostly okay with that because I know that’s just how they are. They don’t know Jesus yet!

    A – Reading today that we all have weak faith somewhere, I understand better why I shouldn’t judge other Christians just as I wouldn’t want them to judge me when I’m in a weak position.

    P – Father, thank you for showing me today that weak faith in one area doesn’t make me a bad Christian. Thank you for my family. Continue to teach me and guide me in ways to influence them for good and to show them how you live through me. Amen.

    Like

Leave a Response

