Romans 12:14-18 – October 3

We are currently studying the book of Romans. You can read the NIV version below or your favorite Bible version then spend some time meditating and journaling on the reading, letting God speak to you through it. We encourage use of the SOAP method of Bible study as you grow in your relationship with God. Check out the What’s SOAP tab above for more info. Also, below today’s reading is a SOAP journal entry from our team to help dive into God’s Word. And we encourage you to share your SOAP journal entry or prayer requests in the Comments section on our website.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

 

Romans 12:14-18 – Love in Action

14 Bless those who persecute you; bless and do not curse. 15 Rejoice with those who rejoice; mourn with those who mourn. 16 Live in harmony with one another. Do not be proud, but be willing to associate with people of low position. Do not be conceited.

17 Do not repay anyone evil for evil. Be careful to do what is right in the eyes of everyone. 18 If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone.

 

Letting Go and Letting God | Rebecca Hoyt

Scripture

Romans 12:14, 17-18

Observation

Bare with me on this post. I’m going to get really real with what’s going on in my life. When I first read my verses nothing really stuck out to me (usually God tells me which one pretty quickly but not today), so I wrote down a verse and walked away, but as I was doing other things I was thinking of the verses. The word persecute and the word EVERYONE which was used twice. At first I couldn’t think of any real enemies I have right now. But then I was thinking about fighting Satan, then the word MYSELF came to mind. And boom there was God telling me live in peace with everyone including yourself! The struggle going on in my head is how to help my daughter not to get so upset about going to kindergarten! So many thoughts in my head of what I should or shouldn’t do to help my daughter. Everyday I have an inner struggle on this.  When I write it out it doesn’t seem like that big of a deal. But living it is another story, and I think only a mom or dad could understand fully. Since about the third day of school about every night and every morning from the time she wakes up, she says she doesn’t like kindergarten, she says it’s too long being away from me and she misses me and cries on and off for an hour-and-a-half each morning! She doesn’t like recess or lunch because of all the noise and hundreds of kids. I am trying everything possible to smile and be encouraging, telling her to say I love you instead of I miss you so it’s more positive. And telling her instead of saying I don’t like kindergarten, say I like music class. Really distraction is the only thing that takes her mind off of it. Then the same thing happens on the car ride to school and hand her off to the counselor who walks her to class because she won’t go on her own. So for 7 weeks this is going on, and as each day passes, I’m more and more exhausted emotionally. And of course my inner struggle with trying to figure out what will help and having to completely put God in control is very hard. I’ve done sticker charts and other rewards. But the bottom line is even if she manages to walk from the car to the school without crying, I still have to drop off a very sad little girl. I get in the car with that feeling of being helpless, not being able to help her, that heartbreaking pain of wanting to help someone you love and can’t figure out how. Before this I can’t remember the last time I cried; I am not a crier. But these last weeks I go home and cry, and cry out to God. We pray together many times each night and morning. She carries a picture of me in her pocket everyday, and we call it little mommy. We say over and over “have no fear God is near”. She goes to school each day with (we call it her posse) God, Jesus, little Mommy, and a big hug from me. Her counselor suggested we come in 10 min before going to class, and she can hang out with the counselor for a little while so she has some transition time after I drop her off. We’ll see if that helps…

Application

Having peace with my inner struggle learning to rely totally on God. If anyone has suggestions on what I can try? God is also trying to teach me to stay positive in the midst of trials.

Prayer

Dear God, Thank You for giving me trials, because there is always something I can learn from them.  (As we pray with the kids each morning) Please put Your arm around my daughters and hold them tight (my older daughter told me last year that once during school God whispered in her ear “I love You, keep going, you can do it!”  From then on I pray that for them each day.  I love you, keep going, you can do it!
Posted on October 3, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Rebecca, you are doing a GREAT job, Mom! Your patience and compassion and calling on God is an inspiration to me because I know how I would react in that situation, and it wouldn’t be so mercy-filled. I say to you: I love you, keep going, you Rebecca can do it, with God on your side! As I read through your post today, and thank you for sharing, I see God showing you in His gentle way the path to peace, but when our anxious thoughts are so wound up, it takes a while to unwind our thought habits and get our feet on His path to peace, for both Joslyn and you. The vicious cycle is that Joslyn’s anxiety builds your anxiety which builds up her anxiety and so on. You’re trying to stop her anxious thoughts with prayer and distractions, and I see God asking what about your anxious thoughts?

    God, please show Rebecca ways to calm her own anxiety over the situation and model peace of mind to Joslyn. Help them both to break the anxious thoughts cycle and find a new school routine grounded in Your peace. In the name of Jesus I pray for rescue for them from the chains of fear and anxiety! And please show me how I can encourage and build up Rebecca to keep up the good fight.

    Like

  2. Rebecca, I love your heart and I know how much I love it -God loves it more!

    Like

Leave a Response

