Romans 12:9-13 – October 2

We are currently studying the book of Romans. You can read the NIV version below or your favorite Bible version then spend some time meditating and journaling on the reading, letting God speak to you through it. We encourage use of the SOAP method of Bible study as you grow in your relationship with God. Check out the What’s SOAP tab above for more info. Also, below today’s reading is a SOAP journal entry from our team to help dive into God’s Word. And we encourage you to share your SOAP journal entry or prayer requests in the Comments section on our website.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

 

Romans 12:9-13 – Love in Action

Love must be sincere. Hate what is evil; cling to what is good. 10 Be devoted to one another in love. Honor one another above yourselves. 11 Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord. 12 Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. 13 Share with the Lord’s people who are in need. Practice hospitality.

 

You Have My Attention | Dyea Rowland

Scripture

Romans 12:12

Observation

This verse was sweet to my heart today. Lately for me there hasn’t been a lot of sweet. Rejoicing? Nope. Persevering? Not without complaints, uneasiness, and a lack of trust – that makes for a hard battle. Praying? Where did my focus go? And I’m thinking hope went with it!

It is a time of affliction for me. It’s funny that I have Psalm 119:71 posted close, so that everyday I can see. It states, “It was good for me to be afflicted so that I might learn your decrees.” Yeah, sometimes I don’t want to learn anymore decrees, go through any more afflictions; sometimes I just want to breath. –Rebellion then, rebellion now (wink).

He got me thinking today (that’s a good thing, right?). I remember learning at my previous job how to get someone to be compliant when they’re not. First ask, second tell, third make. Reflecting on this whatever-you-want-to-call-it season of mine, I hear His voice loud and clear. I hear the echoing of when He had asked, when He had told me, and finally today, the make–the importance of all three going together. I know He wants me to be hopeful, to keep persevering, and the one that I am really to be honing in on is being devoted to prayer. This will go hand-in-hand with me “loving” (remember from my last post). I remember hearing somewhere “the person who prays the best, loves the best”. I don’t think that I would be wrong if I added and hopes the most.

Application

Out of all these verses lately, hope is back! It’s easy to say, yeah I’m hopeful, but to actually feel it, ah, for me, that was the tricky part. I have the gift of faith, but wait, did it go on vacation? It’s about time it came back! I say this with my whole heart: thank You for my afflictions. I’m reminded everyday, but today Your Words made me realize I have been being ridiculous, as I like to say.

Prayer

Father, what powerful words for me today! I needed them and in that order. I keep losing my focus. I do know You resolve issues, so why I keep going through the revolving door of ridiculousness, I’m not quiet sure. Let me stop, put my eyes upon You, Jesus, and look full into Your wonderful face. You got my attention today, You have it. Just show me, what next? I’m listening. In Your attention-getting name…Amen.

Posted on October 2, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I really needed to hear verse 12 this morning

    Like

  2. Verse 10 for me today. My thoughts have been very selfish lately and have been manifesting into action. I don’t see anywhere in today’s reading or elsewhere in the Bible where it says if you aren’t feeling the love back then, poor baby, just wait until you get some love from others before you give love again. Nope. That’s not God’s kind of love. More like, strap on your boots and love, love, love no matter the response. God’s love is enough for me!

    Like

Leave a Response

