Romans 12:1-5 – September 30

We are currently studying the book of Romans. You can read the NIV version below or your favorite Bible version then spend some time meditating and journaling on the reading, letting God speak to you through it. We encourage use of the SOAP method of Bible study as you grow in your relationship with God. Check out the What’s SOAP tab above for more info. Also, below today’s reading is a SOAP journal entry from our team to help dive into God’s Word. And we encourage you to share your SOAP journal entry or prayer requests in the Comments section on our website.

The Discover One Thing main website continues to follow the Life Journal Reading Plan which covers the whole Bible in one year. Click HERE to check out today’s Discover One Thing post.

 

Romans 12:1-5

A Living Sacrifice

Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship. Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.

Humble Service in the Body of Christ

For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the faith God has distributed to each of you. For just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, so in Christ we, though many, form one body, and each member belongs to all the others.

 

Holy and Pleasing to God | Rebecca Hoyt

Scripture

Romans 12:1-2

Observation

When I read verse 1, “offer your bodies as living sacrifices holy and pleasing to God”,  I automatically thought of my battle with healthy eating and exercise for the last 12 years (weird, that is how old my oldest is :). I am an emotional eater. If things are good, like between Oct. 2014 and May 2015 I lost 20lbs, but then summer came and change and both kids home all day arguing. The weight started to come back on and the exercising started to stop. Then school started and big change-Kindergarten, the emotional rollercoaster every morning. So I have now put those 20 lbs back on. But I am now a month earlier than I started last year. And this time I’m starting in the midst of an emotional time and starting to turn to prayer instead of junk food. And just started to workout again. Besides being healthy physically, “holy and pleasing to God” also means anything that goes in or out from me be pleasing to God. What am I listening too, seeing, what am I filling my mind with? What do I talk to my family and others about? Is it holy and pleasing to God? We are sacrifices with our whole bodies, what we do and how we do it. Verse 2: “be transformed by the renewing of your mind.” It is hard not to worry when your child is so upset. There is a battle in my mind because worry is not putting God in complete control. It says God I don’t know if You’ve got this. But of course He does, and only He can know the outcome. I’ve had this control issue since school started. I am dropping my kids off for 7 hours and having to say there is nothing at all I can do and learning to hand the control over to God where it always should be.

Application

Verse 2 – “Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is- His good, pleasing and perfect will.”
I have been asking God what His will is for me what is the next step for my life? I think through these verses He’s telling me to get the junk out first like worry. Then I will be more open to hear what He is telling me.

Prayer

Dear God, Thank You for being with me in this emotional time right now. Thank You that You will take over all my worries if I’d just let You. (This verse just popped into my head; I’ve been hearing it a lot lately) “Be still and know that I am God!”
Posted on September 30, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Some questions to ponder today:

    (1) How do you offer your body as a living sacrifice to God (vs. 1)?

    (2) What’s your function in the Body of Christ (vs. 4-5)?

    Like

  2. Rebecca, I love how that verse just popped into your head. And that’s how the Voice of God works!

    For me, (1) is a daily thing, sometimes minute-ly thing. For instance, yesterday was my DOT prayer day where I try to focus on praying for you all and the Discover One Thing ministry throughout the day. But in the midst of praying, this inappropriate song kept going through my head. I’d be praying one second and then my thoughts would interrupt into busting out in song about drugs and sex the next. I was so frustrated; I had to ask forgiveness and pray for these thoughts to be taken captive like 20 times. Thankfully, God’s grace is enough for my flaws so my prayers didn’t become null and void through that.

    For (2), I feel like my function is utility player. A utility player in baseball is good at all positions but not good enough to be a starter. He waits on the bench ready to go in if someone’s having a bad day or gets hurt. He’s always ready to go and work with the team when he gets the call.

    Like

Leave a Response

